Cockerill names side for trip to Leinster

Head Coach Richard Cockerill has named his Edinburgh side for tomorrow night’s Guinness PRO14 clash against Leinster at RDS Arena (Friday 29 September, kick-off 7.35pm) – live on BBC Alba 

The team selection includes nine changes to the starting XV which lost to reigning champions Scarlets at the Parc y Scarlets last weekend. In the back-three, Glenn Bryce and Dougie Fife rotate in for Jason Harries and Blair Kinghorn – as the latter drops to the bench. Tom Brown keeps his spot on the wing.

In the midfield, Scotland Sevens star James Jonhstone makes his first start of the season and is partnered by the experienced Phil Burleigh. A revamped half-back partnership sees Jason Tovey make his first start of the season alongside Sam Hidalgo-Clyne who replaces Nathan Fowles.

In the front-row, Stuart McInally continues at hooker and will make his 106th appearance in the black and red. The 27-year-old will pack down alongside Simon Berghan and Darryl Marfo – who makes his second start for the club.

Grant Gilchrist is joined in the second-row by Fraser McKenzie - who skippers the side on his first start of the season. The only alteration to an otherwise unchanged back-row sees Cornell du Preez replace Magnus Bradbury at number eight – who is rested for the trip.

On his team selection, Cockerill said: "We've made a few changes to the side, but we have depth across the squad. The guys who've come in will provide us with competition and I expect them to fight for a place in this team. If we match the levels of desire that were shown against Scarlets last weekend, I have every confidence that we can come away with a positive result." 



Edinburgh team to play Leinster at the RDS Arena in the Guinness PRO14 on Friday 29 September (kick-off 7.35pm)


15 Glenn Bryce (24)


14 Tom Brown (108)

13 James Johnstone (3)

12 Phil Burleigh (61)

11 Dougie Fife (86)


10 Jason Tovey (26)

9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (86)


1 Darryl Marfo (4)

2 Stuart McInally (105)

3 Simon Berghan (35)

4 Fraser McKenzie (83) CAPTAIN

5 Grant Gilchrist (101)

6 Jamie Ritchie (33)

7 Hamish Watson (75)

8 Cornell du Preez (84)




16 Neil Cochrane (54)

17 Murray McCallum (21)

18 Kevin Bryce (8)

19 Anton Bresler (57)

20 John Hardie (23)

21 Nathan Fowles (36)

22 Blair Kinghorn (46)

23 Robbie Fruean (3)

Edinburgh Rugby apperances in brackets