Cockerill names side for Zebre clash

Head Coach Richard Cockerill has named his Edinburgh side for tomorrow night’s Guinness PRO14 clash against Zebre at Myreside (Friday 6 October, kick-off 7.35pm).

The team selection includes five changes to the starting XV which narrowly lost to Leinster at the RDS Arena last weekend. The only alteration to an otherwise unchanged back-three sees Blair Kinghorn return to his familiar position of full-back after featuring off the bench in last weekend’s game in Dublin.

In the midfield, James Johnstone continues at outside-centre following his impressive outing last weekend. The Scotland Sevens star is partnered by the experienced Phil Burleigh. Jason Tovey continues at stand-off after scoring all 13 of Edinburgh’s points in last weekend’s defeat. At scrum-half, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne drops to the bench and is replaced by Nathan Fowles.

In the front-row, experienced tight-head WP Nel packs down alongside Stuart McInally and Darryl Marfo. Ben Toolis returns to first team action after being rested last weekend and will once again partner Grant Gilchrist in the boiler room. In the back-row, club captain Magnus Bradbury comes back in at blindside flanker after missing the trip to Dublin. The 22-year-old is joined by the abrasive duo of Jamie Ritchie and Cornell du Preez.

On his team selection, Richard Cockerill said: “We’ve chosen a side which we feel can compete against Zebre in every facet of the game. There are a number of guys who impressed last weekend against Leinster and we hope they can continue to help the side makes positive strides.”   


Edinburgh team to face Zebre at Myreside in the Guinness PRO14 on Friday 6 October (kick-off 7.35pm)


15 Blair Kinghorn (47)


14 Dougie Fife (87)

13 James Johnstone (4)

12 Phil Burleigh (62)

11 Tom Brown (109)


10 Jason Tovey (27)

9 Nathan Fowles (37)


1 Darryl Marfo (5)

2 Stuart McInally (106)

3 WP Nel (107)

4 Ben Toolis (73)

5 Grant Gilchrist (102)

6 Magnus Bradbury CAPTAIN (35)

7 Jamie Ritchie (34)

8 Cornell du Preez (85)




16 Ross Ford (179)

17 Allan Dell (39)

18 Simon Berghan (36)

19 Anton Bresler (58)

20 Luke Crosbie *

21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (87)

22 Duncan Weir (25)

23 Robbie Fruean (4)


*Edinburgh competitive debut