NEWS | Cockerill makes nine changes for trip to Moscow

Head coach Richard Cockerill has named his side for tomorrow’s European Challenge Cup clash against Krasny Yar at Fili Stadium in Moscow (Saturday 21 October, kick-off 10am BST).

The team selection includes nine changes to the side who claimed a bonus point victory against London Irish in round one. In the back-three, Blair Kinghorn returns to action at full-back after missing last weekend’s trip to the Madejski Stadium. Damien Hoyland keeps his place on the wing following his try-scoring performance last weekend. Tom Brown rotates in for Dougie Fife on the opposite flank.

In the midfield, Junior Rasolea retains his spot at inside-centre following his impressive brace of tries last weekend. The Australian is joined by Scotland Sevens star James Johnstone. Sam Hidalgo Clyne and Jason Tovey once again partner each other at half-back. 

In the front-row, Allan Dell continues at loose-head after making his first start of the season against London Irish. The 25-year-old will pack down alongside WP Nel and Neil Cochrane, who skippers the side on their first ever visit to Russia. The experienced duo of Grant Gilchrist and Anton Bresler form a revamped second-row. 

In the back-row, Cornell du Preez continues at number eight following a string of impressive performances. The Scotland internationalist is joined by the burgeoning duo of Lewis Carmichael and Luke Crosbie, who makes his first start in the black and red following his try-scoring cameo off the bench last weekend. 

On his team selection, Richard Cockerill said: “I was very impressed with Krasny Yar’s win against Stade Francais last weekend. They key for us tomorrow is to match them physically but also to play our own game and make sure we challenge them with ball in hand. 

We know it’s going to be tough. If we’re not playing at 100% then Krasny Yar are a good enough side to beat us as we saw last weekend.”

Edinburgh team to face Krasny Yar at Fili Stadium in the European Challenge Cup on Saturday 21 October (kick-off 10am BST)


 15 Blair Kinghorn (48)


14 Damien Hoyland (51)

13 James Johnstone (5)

12 Junior Rasolea (17)

11 Tom Brown (111)


10 Jason Tovey (29)

9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (89)


1 Allan Dell (41)

2 Neil Cochrane CAPTAIN (56)

3 WP Nel (109)

4 Anton Bresler (59)

5 Grant Gilchrist (104)

6 Lewis Carmichael (15)

7 Luke Crosbie (2)

8 Cornell du Preez (87)




16 Stuart McInally (108)

17 Darryl Marfo (7)

18 Simon Berghan (38)

19 Fraser McKenzie (85)

20 Viliame Mata (19)

21 Nathan Fowles (39)

22 Chris Dean (47)

23 Glenn Bryce (26)

Edinburgh appearances in brackets