NEWS | Cockerill names side for Cheetahs clash

Head coach Richard Cockerill has named his side for tomorrow evening’s Guinness PRO14 clash against the Toyota Cheetahs at Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein (Friday 24 November, kick-off 5.30pm GMT - live on BBC ALBA).

The team selection includes seven changes to the side that earned a bonus-point victory over Ospreys at Myreside three weeks ago. In the back-three, wing Duhan van der Merwe makes his competitive debut for the club in his homeland, with Dougie Fife on the opposite flank and Blair Kinghorn at fullback.

In the midfield, James Johnstone remains at outside centre. The former Scotland Sevens man is partnered by Chris Dean, who gets the nod having made his 50th appearance for the club in the victory over Ospreys. The experienced duo of Jason Tovey and Sam Hidalgo-Clyne continue their half-back partnership.

In the forwards, Neil Cochrane starts at hooker having returned from international duty with Scotland and packs down alongside Michele Rizzo and Murray McCallum, who makes his first start of the season. Lock Anton Besler returns to the second row and is partnered by club captain Fraser McKenzie.

An industrious back-row sees the youthful pairing of Luke Crosbie and Lewis Carmichael pack down alongside Viliame Mata, who gets the nod at No.8.   



 Edinburgh team to face the Toyota Cheetahs at Toyota Stadium in the Guinness PRO14 on Friday 24 November – live on BBC Alba (kick-off 5.30pm GMT)


15. Blair Kinghorn (51)

14.  Dougie Fife (91)

13.  James Johnstone (8)

12. Chris Dean (50)

11. Duhan van der Merwe *

10. Jason Tovey (32)

9. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (92)

1. Michele Rizzo (6)

2. Neil Cochrane (59)

3. Murray McCallum (24)

4. Anton Bresler (60)

5. Fraser McKenzie C (88) 

6. Lewis Carmichael (18)

7. Luke Crosbie (5)

8. Viliame Mata (20)


 16. Cameron Fenton (1)

17. Rory Sutherland (51)

18. Kevin Bryce (9)

19. Callum Hunter-Hill *

20. Magnus Bradbury (37)

21. Nathan Fowles (42)

22. Jaco van der Walt *

23. Junior Rasolea (18)


Edinburgh appearances in brackets

* Edinburgh competitive debut