U20 | Scott names 28-man squad for U20 Six Nations Championship

Scotland U20 Head Coach Stevie Scott has today named his squad for the forthcoming U20 Six Nations Championship.

The 28-man squad consists of 16 forwards and 12 backs, 24 of whom are set to make their debut at this level.

Included in this year’s squad are ten players who’ve progressed through the BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy. 

Prop Shaun Gunn (Edinburgh Accies); prop Finn Hobbis (Watsonians); hooker Robbie Smith (Ayr); second row Jamie Hodgson (Watsonians); back-row Archie Erskine (Boroughmuir); scrum-half Kaleem Barreto (Marr); stand-off Paddy Dewhirst (Ayr); centre Stafford McDowell (Ayr); stand-off Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks) and winger Sam Yawayawa (Glasgow Hawks) are all named as the squad prepare to kick-off this year’s Six Nations Championship in Wales on Friday 2 February.

This year’s squad also sees the BT Premiership well represented. 

Back-row trio Dan Marek (Boroughmuir); Martin Hughes (Heriots); and Guy Graham (Hawick); winger Logan Trotter (Stirling County); plus centres Kyle Rowe (Glasgow Hawks) and Mark New (Glasgow Hawks) are all included.

Joining the squad are a number of players who are eligible through the Scottish Qualified (SQ) programme.

Prop Nathan McBeth (Golden Lions); lock Ewan Johnson (Racing 92); scrum-half Charlie Gowling (Stade Francais); Number eight Devante Onojaife (Northampton Saints); scrum-half Charlie Chapman (Gloucester); back-row Harry Butler (Hartpury) and stand-off Callum McLelland (Edinburgh Rugby) are all named in the 28-man squad.

Second row Alan Gregory (Northumbria University); hooker Bradley Clements (Ealing) and centre Rory McMichael (Glasgow Hawks) are also selected - all of whom have previously represented Scotland at age-grade levels.

Scotland U20 Head Coach, Stevie Scott said: “We’ve selected a youthful and talented squad which we believe has the ability to perform in this year’s Six Nations championship.

“We’ve chosen a well-rounded group of players and they’ve already shown throughout our training camp that they have the ability to pick-up and learn new plays quickly, which will be vital as we look to lay down an early marker in this year’s tournament.

“We still have a lot of work to do as we prepare to face Wales next month, but I have every confidence that this group of players will be focused for the vital games ahead.”

Tickets for both Scotland U20 Six Nations home games – at Broadwood Stadium against France (Fri 9 Feb, 7.45pm) and at the home of Edinburgh Rugby, Myreside, against England (Fri 23 Feb, 7.30pm), are on sale now.

Under 18’s only £1*, adults £10.20 and concessions (students/seniors) £5.10. Secure your tickets here

All prices are inclusive of VAT and any transaction fees.

*£1 U18 ticket offer ends midnight Thursday before each match, U18 ticket will increase to £5.10 on match day.


Scotland squad for 2018 U20 Six Nations Championship




Murphy Walker (Strathallan/ Dundee HSFP)

Shaun Gunn (Edinburgh Accies)*

Nathan McBeth (Golden Lions)

Finlay Richardson (Edinburgh Accies)

Finn Hobbis (Watsonians)*

Robbie Smith (Ayr)*

Bradley Clements (Ealing)

Ewan Johnson (Racing 92)

Jamie Hodgson (Watsonians)*

Alan Gregory (Northumbria University)

Harry Butler (Hartpury)

Dan Marek (Boroughmuir)

Martin Hughes (Heriot's)

Archie Erskine (Boroughmuir)*

Guy Graham (Hawick)

Devante Onojaife (Northampton Saints)




Kaleem Barreto (Marr)**

Charlie Chapman (Gloucester)

Charlie Gowling (Stade Francais)

Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks)*

Callum McLelland (Edinburgh Rugby)

Logan Trotter (Stirling County)*

Kyle Rowe (Glasgow Hawks)

Sam Yawayawa (Glasgow Hawks)**

Rory McMichael (Glasgow Hawks)

Paddy Dewhirst (Ayr)*

Mark New (Glasgow Hawks)

Stafford McDowell (Ayr)*


*BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy supported players 2017-18

**BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 players 2017-18