Scotland 7s squad and fixtures for Hong Kong

John Dalziel’s Team Scotland Commonwealth Games squad will gain valuable game time together at the Hong Kong 7s.

Jo Nayacavou is the only player named in the Team Scotland squad for the Games on the Gold Coast not to feature in Hong Kong.

Despite travelling with the squad, the 32-year old will be rested in at this weekend’s tournament having just recently recovered from a groin injury.

Ally Miller takes Nayacavou’s place among the forwards as he did in Vancouver last month.

Glasgow Warriors’ Matt Fagerson will make his Scotland 7s debut. He is joined in the squad by Glasgow teammates George Horne, Ruaridh Jackson, Lee Jones and Max McFarland who all have previous experience playing on the World Series.

Edinburgh Rugby’s Glenn Bryce topped the DHL Performance Tracker in Vancouver. He once again joins club teammate Darcy Graham in the 7s squad.

Scotland 7s Head Coach John Dalziel said: “The opportunity for these players to get a tournament under their belts before the Commonwealth Games is really invaluable for us.

“We have a lot of new faces with previous 7s experience, but the game is always changing, and these guys have been playing XVs a long time so it’s good to have them in a training environment and getting some top-level tournament game time.

“Hong Kong is a fantastic tournament. If you talk to players all around the world Hong Kong 7s is a place they want to play. 

“These players are equally as excited about next weekend as they are the one after and are eager to achieve something as a group.”


Scotland 7s fixtures in the seventh leg of the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series in Hong Kong, Friday 6 – Sunday 8 April. Kick-offs UK time, live on Sky Sports.

6 April

11:48 Scotland 7s v England 7s

7 April

5.22 Scotland 7s v South Africa 7s

9.00 Scotland 7s v South Korea 7s

8 April


Scotland 7s squad to compete in Hong Kong (World Series tournaments in brackets)

Glenn Bryce (14)

Matt Fagerson (0)

Jamie Farndale (27)

James Fleming (44)

Nyle Godsmark (12)

Darcy Graham (5)

George Horne (6)

Ruaridh Jackson (5)

Lee Jones (24)

Gavin Lowe (22)

Max McFarland (6)

Ally Miller (5)

Scott Riddell (63) CAPTAIN


Core players unavailable: Hugh Blake (shoulder injury), Jack Cuthbert (hand injury), Dougie Fife (Edinburgh Rugby), James Johnstone (Edinburgh Rugby), Sam Pecqueur (leg injury).