Edinburgh under-18 claim season’s second victory over Caledonia

Edinburgh under-18 travelled north to Aberdeen to meet their Caledonia counterparts in each teams’ fourth inter-district game, and their second head-to-head, of the season.

In their first tie, Edinburgh recorded a comfortable 32-14 victory, yet were harder pushed in claiming the win this time around, triumphing 20-7.

Duplicating their scoring exploits of the teams’ first clash, wing duo Robbie Nairn and Ross McCann crossed the line for Edinburgh, the former grabbing two, with replacement Johnny Goldring claiming the fourth – none of the scores were converted in the tough conditions.  

Caledonia’s sole try came from number 8 Bruce Flockhart, with his Highland clubmate and scrum-half Finn Call adding the extras.

Caledonia under-18 20-7 Edinburgh under-18

Caledonia under-18 squad: Bruce Sorbie (Aberdeenshire/ Robert Gordon’s College/); Paul Paxton (Ellon/The Gordon Schools), Ben Enyon (Perthshire/Strathallan School), Rhuaridh Leader (Glenalmond College), Callum Nicoll (Strathallan School); Ian Crush (Highland), Finn Call (Highland); Adam Nicol (Dunfermline), Connor Crawford (Dunfermline), Lewis McLean (Strathallan School), Jack Bruce (Strathallan School), Angus Grindlay (Aberdeen Wanderers),  Euan Milton (Highland), Duncan Wither (Glenalmond College) and Bruce Flockhart (Highland/Strathallan School).

Replacements: Liam Brymer (Stirling County), Shaun Gunn (Caithness), Keir Haile Brown (Stilring County), Harry Henderson, Paul Kidd (High School of Dundee), Jamie Troup (Strathallan School) and Andrew McArthur (Mackie).

Edinburgh under-18 squad: Saul Melvin-Farr (Edinburgh Academy); Ross McCann (RHC Cougars/Royal High School), Ali Greig (Stewart’s Meville College), Ronan Kerr (George Watson’s College), Robbie Nairn (George Watson’s College); Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Academy), Chris Davies (Currie/George Watson’s College); Ross Gordon (Stewart’s Melville College), Malcolm Jack (Edinburgh Academy), Fergus Bradbury (Merchiston Castle School), Callum Hunter-Hill (Stewart’s Melville College), Hamish Bain (Portobello/George Watson’s College), Luke Crosbie (Currie), Scott McGinley (Currie/Edinburgh Academy) and Zach Mercer (Merchiston Castle School).

Replacements: Callum Harris (George Watson’s College), Alex Whyte (George heriot’s School), Jonathan Goldring (Boroughmuir/George Watson’s College), Fergus Haig (Fettes College), Aaron Porteous (Stewart’s Melville College), Kerr Stoddart (George Watson’s College), Stafford McDowell (Merchiston Castle School) and Ben Appleson (Edinburgh Academy).