Scotland under-20s to clash with best from the domestic scene

Scotland under-20 and Scotland Club XV will clash at BT Murrayfield tomorrow night (Tuesday 27 January), as both teams prepare for their forthcoming international duties (kick-off 7.30pm).

Scotland under-20 met CLub XV last year as part of both sides' preparation for the international season

In the Scotland under-20 starting XV, the Edinburgh Rugby pairing of Magnus Bradbury and Jamie Ritchie, the latter taking on captaincy duties, will combine in the back-row, alongside Lewis Wynne of Stirling County who will pack down at blinside.

Of the three players in the front-row, two, prop Zander Fagerson and hooker Jake Kerr, are Level 3 BT Sport Academy players aligned to Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh Rugby respectively. They will be joined by Murray McCallum of Aberdeen Grammar Rugby who occupies the loosehead berth.  

Completing the pack to start against the Club XV will be Scott Cummings and Lewis Carmichael in the engine room.

George Horne and Rory Hutchinson, of Glasgow Hawks and Northampton Saints respectively, combine at half-back, with Patrick Kelly and Archie Russell starting in the centre.

Gala and Edinburgh Rugby full-back Ruairi Howarth, is joined by Currie’s Harvey Elms and Alec Coombes of London Scottish in the back-three.

Heriot’s scrum-half Graham Wilson and stand-off Gregor McNeish will pair up at nine and ten respectively for the Club XV.

Though this is only a training match and caps therefore won’t be awarded, their will also be Scotland Club XV debuts, in the starting line-up, for wingers Scott McLeod (Hawick) and Harry Boisseau (Heriot’s), centre Rory Hutton (Hawick) and forwards Nick Beavon (Melrose), Russell Anderson (Gala) and Tommy Spinks (Glasgow Hawks).

Head Coach, Phil Smith, said: “We’re looking forward to getting our first run out and to start seeing our squad come together.

“This will be an opportunity for the boys to stick their hand up for selection for the Ireland game, so promises to be an engaging encounter as I am sure Sean's group will be just as eager to impress.”

This game will be open to the public and is free of charge.

The teams

Scotland under-20 team: Ruairi Howarth (Edinburgh Rugby/Gala); Alec Coombes (London Scottish), Archie Russell (Stirling County), Patrick Kelly (Le Parc), Harvey Elms (Currie); Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints), George Horne (Glasgow Hawks); Murray McCallum (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby), Jake Kerr (Edinburgh Rugby/Watsonians), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks), Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks), Lewis Carmichael (Melrose), Lewis Wynne (Stirling County), Jamie Ritchie CAPTAIN (Edinburgh Rugby) and Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby/Boroughmuir).

Replacements: TBC

Scotland Club XV team: Fraser Thomson (Melrose); Scott McLeod (Hawick), Rory Hutton (Hawick), Ross Curle (Ayr), Harry Boisseau (Heriot’s); Gregor McNeish (Heriot’s), Graham Wilson (Heriot’s); Nick Beavon (Melrose), Russell Anderson (Gala), Struan Cessford (Heriot’s), Scott Sutherland (Ayr), Callum Templeton (Ayr), Jason Hill (Heriot’s), Tommy Spinks (Glasgow Hawks) and Ross Weston (Currie).

Replacements: Fergus Scott (Ayr), Ewan McQuillin (Melrose), Stephen Findlay (Glasgow Hawks), Shawn Muir (Hawick), Will Bordill (Ayr), Gary Graham (Gala), Peter Eccles (Melrose), George Graham (Gala), Stuart Edwards (Heriot’s), Chirs Auld (Gala) and Craig Gossman (Ayr).