Missed opportunities prove costly for Scotland under-18

Scotland under-18 will face their Irish counterparts in the final round of the Rugby Europe tournament after going down 3-2 in a penalty shoot-out to Portugal.

With the game standing at 0-0 after 75 minutes, the fate of the sides was to be determined by a best of five penalty shootout, as per under-18 regulation, in which Portugal snatched the victory.

Scotland under-18 Head Coach, Eddie Pollock

Head Coach, Eddie Pollock, said: “We’re very disappointed with the way things went tonight, especially coming off the back of a couple of good performances.

 “We managed to dominate possession throughout the game yet committed too many errors, and were turned over at the contact too often.

“The conditions were poor which meant it was never going to be a fluid, high-scoring game, yet we had a number of scoring opportunities, including two kicks at goal, which we failed to take advantage of.

“We have another big Test match this weekend and now need to pick ourselves up, focus on the task ahead and get the win.”

Scotland under-18 recently overcame their next opponents, Ireland Schools, as part of their preparations for the Rugby Europe tournament.

Scotland Under 18’s: Saul Melvin-Farr (Edinburgh Academy/Edinburgh Academicals)*, Darcy Graham (Hawick High School/Hawick Wanderers), Alastair Greig (Stewart’s Melville College/Stewart’s Melville), Grant Huggan (Hawick Wanderers), Ross McCann (Royal High School/RHC Cougars)*, Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Academy/Edinburgh Academicals)*, Andrew Simmers (Glasgow Academy/Glasgow Hawks)*; George Thornton (Moulton College/Market Harborough), Fraser Renwick (Hawick High School/Hawick Wanderers), Fergus Bradbury (Merchiston Castle School), Luke Crosbie (Currie), Callum Hunter-Hill (Stewart's Melville)*, Alexander Craig (Hartpury College/Gloucester), Thomas Gordon (Currie) and Bruce Flockhart (Strathallan School/Highland).

Jack Solman (Sedbergh School), Adam Nicol (Queen Anne High School.Dunfermline), Blair Robertson (Kelso Harlequins), Hamish Bain (George Watson’s College/Currie), Matthew Fagerson (Strathallan School), Charlie Shiel (Royal High School/RHC Cougars)*, Gregor Haldane (Stowe School/Northampton Saints), Robbie Nairn (George Watson’s College/Currie), Connor Eastgate (Henley/Wasps), Craig Pringle (Loretto School/Melrose)* and Michael Dewar (Abingdon School/Wasps).

*sportscotland institute of sport supported player 2014/15