Scotland U16 campaign ends in defeat

Scotland under-16s in action (Pic by Clint Lanyon)

Scotland under-16s BMW Wellington Festival campaign ended in defeat to England South West this afternoon.

The young Scottish side were 34-0 down at half-time but came back strongly after the break to score two tries through Calum Gaw and Fraser Dingwall, with Cameron Redpath kicking both conversions.

On Wednesday Roddy Dean's side went down 48-0 to Wales Celts, after an impressive 27-19 win over England North last weekend.

Scotland U16s head coach Roddy Deans, said: "Today we came up against a very powerful and direct English side.

"I am very proud of the way our boys managed to regroup and finish with a strong performance in the second-half.

"The boys could easily have folded but displayed great character and resilience to win the second-half 14-0.

"International rugby is all about the small margins and when we executed our systems we performed well.

"The boys have really developed over the last four weeks and now fully understand what it takes to play at international level.

"This festival is a very steep learning curve for our players. It takes them out of their comfort zone and tests them against the best players from England and Wales.

"The highlight of the week was beating England North with real tempo, accuracy and spirit."

Scotland U16 team: Eagers, Gaw, McMichael, Dingwall, Steele, Redpath, Barreto, Clark, Smith, Richardson, Blakemore, Kerr, Christie, Nelson, Hughes,

Subs: Cairncross, Scott, Gauld, Guiney, O’Neill, Tasker, McCready, Davidson, Thompson, Paterson, Abekhe

Scotland under-16 National Squad to play at BMW Wellington Festival 2015: 

Forwards: Adam Kerr (Hutchesons' GS), Andrew O'Neill (Glenalmond College), Gregor Nelson (George Watson's College), Cameron Blakemore (Stirling County RFC/Dollar Academy), Connor Clark (Stirling County RFC), Finlay Richardson (Merchiston Castle School), Finlay Darrah (Dunbar Grammar School/Dunbar RFC), Finlay Scott (Jedburgh GS/Jed Thistle RFC), Paul Cairncross (East Kilbride RFC/Kelvinside Academy), Robbie Smith (Newton Stewart RFC), Roderick Guiney (Peebles High School/Peebles RFC), Sean Gauld (Dundee Eagles/High School of Dundee), Martin Hughes (St. Aloysius' College), Andrew Christie (Old Bristolians RFC/Bristol GS).  
Backs: Calum Gaw (Ayr RFC), Edmund Abekhe (Fettes College), Jack Paterson (Fettes College), Josh Eagers (Merchiston Castle School/Currie RFC), Kaleem Barreto (Glenalmond College), Matt Davidson (Ayr RFC/Wellington School), Peter Steele (Biggar RFC), Ross Thompson (Stewart's Melville College), Jack McCready (Glasgow Hawks RFC/TheGlasgow Academy), Fraser Dingwall (Cambridge RUFC/Bedford School), Rory McMichael (Wellington College), Cameron Redpath (Kings School – Macclesfield).