Changes made to Scotland under-20 for Argentina showdown

Some eight changes have been made to the Scotland under-20 side for their final pool tie of the World Rugby Under-20 Championship against Argentina tomorrow (Wednesday 10 June, kick-off 3.30pm GMT) – live on BT Sport 2.

Alec Coombes makes his first start at centre for Scotland under-20

Both teams have yet to record a victory from their respective campaigns, though the Pumas have picked up two losing bonus points from as many games – in narrow loses to Ireland and New Zealand – and one more than the young Scots. 

Scotland under-20 Head Coach, Sean Lineen, said: “We know what we face in our final game of the group stages, and that is a gruelling test against a tough and physical Argentina side. 

“Our high-error count against Ireland was frustrating so we’ve been working hard to cut that out of our game. However, there were a lot of positives we can take from that match which, hopefully, we can carry into tomorrow’s tie.

“We have rotated the squad a fair bit for this match, but we need to ensure that across the five games players are getting adequate rest, as well as a chance to play and prove themselves at this level.”

Number eight Magnus Bradbury will skipper Scotland as they face the Argentines, with Jamie Ritchie taking a spot on the bench.

Ally Miller and Lewis Wynne, who started in the opening game against New Zealand, return to the starting XV to complete the back-row trio.

Neil Irvine-Hess moves in from blindside flanker to start in the second-row with Scott Cummings.

The front-row remains from last Saturday’s game against Ireland with Murray McCallum and Zander Fagerson propping, and Sam James at hooker. 

Ben Vellacott and Rory Hutchinson come into the fray to form the half-back duo, as Alec Coombes slides in from the wing to make his first start at outside-centre at this level. He partners Patrick Kelly in the midfield.

Richard Galloway is promoted from the bench to take Coombes’ spot on the left wing, with Robbie Nairn retaining his place on the opposite side. 

Blair Kinghorn takes the final place in the back-three as he moves from stand-off to full-back. 

Scotland team to play Argentina in the World Rugby Under-20 Championship at Stadio San Michele, Calvisano (kick-off 3.30pm GMT) – live on BT Sport 2.


15 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby)


14 Robbie Nairn (Harlequins)

13 Alec Coombes (London Scottish)

12 Patrick Kelly (Le Parc)

11 Richard Galloway (University of Birmingham)


10 Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints)

9 Ben Vellacott (Gloucester/Hartpury College)


1 Murray McCallum (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby)

2 Sam James (Bedford Blues)

3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)

4 Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks)

5 Neil Irvine-Hess (Melrose)

6 Ally Miller (Edinburgh Rugby/Watsonians)

7 Lewis Wynne (Stirling County)

8 Magnus Bradbury CAPTAIN (Edinburgh Rugby)




16 Ross Graham (Hawick)

17 Dan Elkington (Watsonians)

18 Jack Owlett (Exeter University)

19 Andrew Davidson (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks)

20 Ruaridh Knott (Melrose)

21 George Horne (Glasgow Hawks)

22 Ruaraidh Smith (Currie)

23 Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby)