Bryce and Riddell join 7s for Singapore event

Head Coach Calum MacRae has made two changes to his side for round eight of the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series in Singapore. 

Riddell (left) & Bryce

Glasgow Warriors’ back Glenn Bryce is set to make his second appearance for Scotland 7s, as he flies out to replace Gav Lowe, who is forced out of action with an ankle injury.

Bryce, who will move to Edinburgh Rugby ahead of the 2016-17 season,  received a call-up to Scotland 7s for the 2015 London 7s, the last leg of the 2014/15 HSBC Sevens World Series.

He scored two tries at Twickenham, both which came against Australia in the Cup quarter-finals.

The other change to MacRae’s side sees Scotland 7s contracted player Scott Riddell, return to duty following the birth of his first child, with Rory Hughes returning to Glasgow Warriors after sustaining a concussion at the Hong Kong event.

Prop Riddell is set to make his 47th appearance on the World Series circuit, where he has amassed an impressive 215 points through 43 tries.

Macrae said: “Although it’s disappointing to lose players through injury, I’m pleased to welcome both Scott and Glenn back into the squad for Singapore.

 “Scott’s experience is invaluable to the squad and he influences the team’s overall attack with his link play.  In defence you will not get a more competitive individual – every blade of grass gets covered.

Glenn is one of the most exciting players in Scottish Rugby with his evasive ability with ball in hand, and will give the team the penetration we lacked at times last week. 

“He put in a good performance in his debut tournament in London last year and we can look forward to his contribution.”

Scotland 7s face South Africa (3am), Kenya (5.43am) and Russia (8.42am) this Saturday in the pool stages at the Singapore event. All times are BST.

Scotland 7s squad to compete in Singapore 7s, round eight of the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series

Hugh Blake
Glenn Bryce
Jamie Farndale
Dougie Fife
James Fleming
James Johnstone
Fraser Lyle
Nick McLennan
Joe Nayacavou
Scott Riddell
Mark Robertson
Scott Wight