Melrose vs Heriot's, Sat, 16/04/2016 - 17:45

13 - 21
Full time
Saturday, 16 April, 2016 - 17:45 |

Heriot’s were crowned this year’s BT Cup champions after defeating Melrose 21-13 in a closely fought game at BT Murrayfield.

Following on from their BT Cup victories of 2003, 2009 and 2014, Heriot’s secured their fourth BT Cup Final win with a determined second-half performance after an intense first-half of play. 

Phil Smith’s men are now on course for the treble having already secured the BT Charity Shield at the start of the season and a place in the BT Premiership final against Ayr on Saturday 23 April.

Smith said: “It took us a while to get into our stride during the first-half but once we scored our first try, we managed to gain some control over the game.

To see it out was great, we just kept going and didn’t really change much and it was a fantastic end to the day.”

Melrose Head Coach, John Dalziel, said: "We were playing against one of the top teams in the country and I thought we had the edge in the first-half, there were five penalties from the scrum and our line-out was going well. 

"I just felt like we weren't allowed to get a real shot at the game but there were huge efforts from our boys." 
Melrose threatened the Heriot’s defence from the start with some early spells of possession inside their opposition’s 22 courtesy of scrum-half and captain Bruce Colvine. 
Heriot’s soon moved the ball through the hands with Gregor McNeish dictating play from the out-half position to put his team on the front-foot.
A penalty attempt from Melrose's George Taylor fell short of the sticks in the 17th minute with John Dalziel's side looking for the initial score in what was a nervous start from both teams.
A period of pressure from Melrose resulted in a kick through from Fraser Thomson for wing Nyle Godsmark to collect and touch down in the right corner, before George Taylor sent the conversion attempt wide on the stroke of the first quarter.
Both teams continued to gain the upper hand towards the end of the first-half with the game still to settle in favour of either side, the result of several handling errors from both.
Cammy Fergsuon gathered a kick from a Melrose boot with the Heriot’s pack taking advantage with a drive towards the line.
A yellow card for Graeme Dodds provided John Semple with a chance to put his team in the lead come half-time, the full-back taking full advantage of the opportunity. 

HALF-TIME: Melrose 5-6 Heriot's 


Minutes into the second-half, John Semple struck a successful penalty from 40 metres out to extend his team’s lead early on but minutes later Melrose hit back with an impressive drop goal from Jason Baggot.

Heriot’s settled into a second-half rhythm and with Lewis Carmichael sent to the bin in the 51st minute, Smith’s men capitalised on the number advantage and sent Neil Cochrane crashing over through the help of a driving maul.

Minutes later, Cochrane bagged his second in similar fashion with a driving maul gathering pace for the hooker to touch down in the same position, which Semple converted.

Melrose responded quickly with some neat interchanges between Murdo McAndrew and Sam Pequeur down the left flank, which resulted in McAndrew racing over for the try.

The closing stages of the match saw both teams battle it out for possession as several changes were made in both the forwards and backs.

Heriot’s retained possession and were eventually crowned BT Cup champions as the final whistle blew to conclude an exciting day of Scottish club rugby at BT Murrayfield. 


FULL-TIME: Melrose 13-21 Heriot's 

Referee: Keith Allen 

Team lineups



15 Fraser Thomson
14 Nyle Godsmark
13 George Taylor
12 Tom Galbraith
11 Sam Pecqueur
10 Jason Baggott
9 Bruce Colvine (C)


15 John Semple
14 Charlie Simpson
13 Liam Steele
12 Cammy Ferguson
11 John Rae
10 Gregor McNeish
9 Tom Wilson


1 Jamie Bhatti
2 George Turner
3 Nick Beavon
4 Graeme Dodds
5 Lewis Carmichael
6 Neil Irvine Hess
7 Grant Runciman
8 Ally Miller


1 Murray McCallum
2 Michael Liness
3 Struan Cessford
4 Russell Nimmo
5 Jack Turley (C)
6 Struan Dewar
7 Iain Wilson
8 Jason Hill


16 Richard Ferguson
17 Ruairi McLeod
18 Ruaridh Knott
19 James Head
20 Murdo McAndrew
21 Joe Helps
22 Andrew Nagel


16 Neil Cochrane
17 Martin Bouab
18 Roan Van Heerden
19 Jamie Syme
20 Alex Henderson
21 Andrew Simmers
22 Max Learmonth
Man of the match: 
John Semple
There is no points table for this competition.

BT Cup latest results

Melrose 13 v 21 Heriot's
Ayr 13 v 20 Melrose
Glasgow Hawks 10 v 10 Heriot's
Marr RFC 18 v 36 Glasgow Hawks
Heriot's 74 v 18 Cartha Queens Park