East v West age-grade teams announced for Scotstoun clash

The East and West teams at U16 and U18 have been named for the first in a double-header this Sunday at Scotstoun that will lead to international age-grade selection for the 2016/17 season.

The top performers from the four BT Sport Academy Regions of The Borders & East Lothian and Edinburgh (representing East), and Caledonia and Glasgow & the West (representing West) will be selected to run out for combined sides at U16, U18 and U20 level in a series of fixtures to be played at Scotstoun, Netherdale and Oriam.

The U16 and U18 trophies will be awarded after the second round of matches in Galashiels on Sunday 23 October, with the winners decided on the aggregate score over the two East versus West fixtures. Oriam will then host the one-off match at U20 level on Sunday 27 November (kick-off 3.30pm TBC) – the first competitive rugby match on the indoor synthetic surface.

New to the performance calendar, these game will provide yet another competitive test bed for potential young Scotland players to prove themselves ahead of the respective squad selection, alongside those identified through Scottish Rugby’s exile player programme.

All fixtures are free to attend however a limited number are available at Oriam. Tickets will be made available at Eventbrite next month.

Sunday 16 October at Scotstoun Stadium

East U16 v West U16 (kick-off 12.30pm)

EAST U16: 15. Harry Paterson (Fettes College); 14. Scott Clark (Preston Lodge HS/RFC), 13. Mathew Currie (Merchiston Castle School), 12. Scott King (Preston Lodge HS/RFC), 11. Nathan Moffat (Stewart’s Melville College); 10. Cameron Scott (Boroughmuir), 9. Jamie Dobie (Merchiston Castle School); 1. Jake Fairly (Earlston HS/Melrose), 2. Finlay Campbell (Jedburgh GS), 3. Dan Gamble (Merchiston Castle School/Kelso), 4. Andrew Hoggarth (Clifton Hall School), 5. Jonathon Roberts (George Watson’s College), 6. William Harper (Merchiston Castle School), 7. Eck Allen (North Berwick HS), 8. Lewis Herd (Stewart’s Melville College). Substitutes: 16. Michael Baird (Currie), 17. Euan Bonthorn (Musselburgh GS/RFC), 18. James Hunter (Preston Lodge HS/RFC), 19. Struan Whittaker (BATs/Trinity Academy), 20. Aiden Harte (Stewart’s Melville College), 21. Fergus Johnstone (Galashiels Academy/Gala), 22. Nathan Sweeny (Loretto School), 23. Dean Anderson (Merchiston Castle School).

WEST U16: 15. George Gourley (Glasgow Academy/Glasgow Hawks); 14. Colin Taylor (Glasgow Academy/Glasgow Hawks), 13. Keir Singleton (Balfron High School/Strathendrick), 12. Andrew Hughes (St Aloysius’ College/GHA), 11. Mungo Somerville (Waid Academy); 10. Joesph Strain (Castle Douglas High School/Stewartry), 9. Finn McIlwraith (Stirling County); 1. Dean Hunter (Strathaven Academy/Strathhaven) 2. Greg Clunas (Howe of Fife), 3. Thomas Ryan (Robert Gordons College), 4. Luca Alessandri (Kings Park Secondary/Cartha Queens Park), 5. Matthew Fletcher (St Andrews & St Brides High School/East Kilbride), 6. Finlay Lennox (Robert Gordons College), 7. Jamie Cruickshank (Stirling County), 8. Jamie Brennan (Glasgow Academy/Glasgow Hawks). Substitutes: 16. Scott Clelland (Prestwick Academy/Ayr), 17. Callum Brown (Gryffe High School), 18. Jamie Drummond (Auchenleck Academy/Cumnock), 19. Rory Jackson (Park Mains School/Bishopton), 20. Liam Dreelan (Lathallan School / Mackie FP), 21. Sandy Greig (High School of Glasgow/Glasgow Hawks), 22. Harry Mercer (St Leonards), 23. Brandon Mills (Glenwood High School/Glenrothes).

East U18 v West U18 (kick-off 2.15pm)

EAST U18: 15. Robbie McCallum (Loretto School/West of Scotland); 14. Cameron Symes (Stewart’S Melville College), 13. David Grant-Suttie (Loretto School), 12. Adam Hall (Earlston HS/Melrose), 11. Jack Blain (Stewart’S Melville College); 10. Ross Thompson (Stewart Melville College), 9. Roan Frostwick (North Berwick HS/North Berwick); 1. Thomas Jeffery (Borders College/Peebles RFC), 2. Finlay Scott (Borders College/Jed Thistle), 3. William Owen (Earlston/Melrose), 4. Thomas Brown (Borders College/Melrose), 5. Jack Mann (Edinburgh Academy), 6. Timon Van Rensburg (Loretto School), 7. Rory Darge (North Berwick HS/North Berwick), 8. Robbie Irvine (Gala Academy/Gala Wanderers). Substitutes: 16. Calum Renwick (Hawick HS/Hawick), 17. Cole Imrie (Trinity Academy), 18. Robert Stott (Musselburgh GS/Musselburgh), 19. Kyle Amos (Jed GS/Jed Thistle), 20. Callum Rowberry (Stewart’s Melville College), 21. Scott Clarke (Selkirk HS/Selkirk YC), 22. Ian Stewart (Fettes College), 23. Finlay Smith (Stewart’s) Melville College.

WEST U18: 15. Ben McIlwraith (Dollar Academy); 14. Ryan Fairweather (Perthshire), 13. Andrew McLean (Stirling County), 12. James McCaig (Strathallan), 11. Jordan Miller (Dundee High School); 10. Grant Hughes (Dollar Academy), 9. Gus Warr (Dollar Academy); 1. Andrew Nimmo (Biggar), 2. Angus Fraser (Dundee High School), 3. Dan York (St Aloysius), 4. Adam Kerr (GHA), 5. Callum Bell (Glasgow Academy), 6. Jack McLean (Glasgow Academy), 7. Wallace Nelson (Stirling County), 8. Callum McPherson (Highland). Substitutes: 16. Thomas Mullen (St Aloysius), 17. Murphy Walker (Strathallan School), 18. Guy Kelly (Biggar), 19. Cameron Henderson (Strathallan School), 20. Sean Guald (Dundee High School), 21. Aiden Reddick (Stirling County), 22. Jacob Henry (Ross Sutherland), 23. Jack McCready (Glasgow Academy).

Forthcoming Fixtures

Sunday 23 October at 4G Pitch, Netherdale

East U16 v West U16 (kick-off 12.30pm)

East U18 v West U18 (kick-off 2.15pm)

Sunday 27 November at Oriam, Edinburgh

East U20 v West U20 (kick-off 3.30pm TBC)