Scotland U19 squad named for Scottish Students encounter

Head Coach Don Caskie has named his Scotland U19 Development Squad for Sunday’s match with Scottish Students at Inverleith in Edinburgh (kick-off 1.30pm).Don Caskie has selected a Scotland U19 squad for Sunday's game in Edinburgh

The game will give players an opportunity to put their hands up for selection for the Scotland U20 squad, which will compete in this summer’s World Rugby U20 Championship in Georgia.

The 25-man squad is made up of 20 home-based players and five exiles.

Next month a Scotland U19 squad will play Scotland U18, prior to the Scotland U20 group being selected for the championship in Georgia in May.

Caskie said: “These two fixtures are very important for the development of this group of players.

“They will not only gain valuable game time experience at this level, which is critical, but it is also a chance for them to push for places in the Scotland U20 squad for the World Rugby U20 Championship later this year and also for next year’s U20 Six Nations."

Scottish Students Head Coach, David Ross, added: “It is extremely pleasing to get the Scottish Students XV back up and running to reward the hard working and talented players in the student game in Scotland.

“We have selected a squad who we are confident will showcase the very best of the student game and would like to thank Scottish Rugby for the opportunity to play such an important fixture in their National Age Grade programme against Scotland U19.”

Scotland U19 development squad to play Scottish Students at Inverleith this Sunday (26 February, kick-off 1.30pm) - FREE entry


15. Ben Appleson* (Edinburgh Academicals)

14. Kyle Rowe (Falkirk) 

13. Jake Hennessy (KCS Wimbledon/Harlequins)**

12. Will Hunt (Preston Grasshoppers)**

11. Logan Trotter* (Stirling County)

10. Kyle Brunton* (Hawick) 

9. Harry Warr (Ayr)


1. Finn Hobbis* (Stewart’s Melville)

2. Jack Samuel (Cardiff Met University)**

3. Finlay Richardson (Edinburgh Academicals)

4. Dean Roger* (Edinburgh Academicals)

5. Jamie Hodgson * (Stewart’s Melville)

6. Dan Marek* (Currie)

7. Angus Hinton (Merchiston Castle)

8. Harry Henderson (Stirling County)


16. Bradley Clements (Sedbergh)** 

17. Shaun Gunn (Edinburgh Academicals)

18.  Jamie Ross (Northumbria University)**

19. Andrew Horne* (Hawick)

20. Kaleem Baretto* (Glenalmond College)

21. Gary Munro* (Jed Forest)

22. Robbie Yourston (Jed Forest)

23. Ben Enyon* (Glasgow Hawks)

24. Jack Paterson (Edinburgh Academicals)

25. Patrick Anderson* (Melrose)

* BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 2 Players 

** Scottish Exiles