Scotland U18 team named to face England

The Scotland U18 team to face England U18 at Preston Grasshoppers RFC this Sunday (12 March, kick-off 2pm) has been named. 

The fixture will serve as a warm-up for the upcoming U18 International Series which begins in April and will also feature Ireland, Wales, Italy and Canada. 

The selected cohort includes many talented youth players, including several names from last year’s squad with Dollar Academy’s Euan McLaren captaining the side and Callum Cruikshank providing experience in the pack.

A number of players who competed in the Scottish Rugby U18 Schools’ Cup Final this season are also named.

Stewart’s Melville College cup-winning captain, Ross Thompson, is included at stand-off, alongside teammates Jack Blain at full-back and Jacob Lineen – son of the 1990 Grand Slam centre, Sean – who starts on the left wing.

Dollar Academy U18 Schools’ Cup runners-up are also represented with Gus Warr, Grant Hughes and Cruikshank involved in the 23-man squad.

Scotland U18 Head Coach, Ally Donaldson, said: “The fixture against England is a great opportunity for players to show where they are ahead of the International Series next month.

The boys have prepared well since coming together in December and we have continued to develop all players in the wider squad. There has been a focus on improving core skills and decision making at training and during internal matches involving both Domestic and Exile players.

“We are excited to take on a talented English outfit and look forward to what will be a great learning experience for our players.”


Scotland U18 team to play England U18 at Preston Grasshoppers RFC, Sunday 12 March

(kick-off 2pm)


15. Jack Blain (Stewart’s Melville College)


14. Josh Eagers (Merchiston Castle School)

13. Andrew McLean** (Stirling County RFC)

12. Rory McMichael* (Wellington College)

11. Jacob Lineen (Stewart’s Melville College)


10. Ross Thompson (Stewart’s Melville College)

9. Gus Warr (Dollar Academy)


1. Andrew Nimmo (Biggar RFC)

2. Angus Fraser** (High School of Dundee)

3. Euan McLaren** CAPTAIN (Dollar Academy)

4. Harry Butler* (London Irish)

5. Callum Bell (The Glasgow Academy)

6. Rory Darge** (North Berwick High School)

7. Connor Boyle (Stewart’s Melville College)

8. Callum Cruikshank** (Dollar Academy)



16. Finlay Scott** (Jed Thistle RFC)

17. Murphy Walker (Strathallan School)

18. Daniel York** (St Aloysius’ College)

19. Cameron Henderson (Strathallan School)

20. Jack Hutchison* (Sedbergh School)

21. Roan Frostwick** (North Berwick High School)

22. Matthew Davidson (Merchiston Castle School)

23. Grant Hughes (Dollar Academy)


**BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 2 player 2016/17

  *Scottish Exile player