Borders & East Lothian benefit from home advantage in regional series

Borders & East Lothian secured two from three matches at home when their academy age-grade sides took on Edinburgh at Netherdale, Galashiels yesterday (Wednesday 26 July).

In the first match between the U16 sides, Edinburgh triumphed as they bagged six tries through Ryan Daly, Michael Jones, Luke Hutchinson and Douglas Blood, with Daly and Jones both getting over the whitewash twice.

Angus Hoffie added the extras on two occasions to take the capital side’s final score to 34 points, while Borders & East Lothian finished on 14 points following two tries from Rhys Tait and Aiden Bambrick, with Christian Townsend converting both.

For the U18s, Borders & East Lothian narrowly came out on top (15-13) with tries from Alex Clarke, Ben Muncaster and Eck Allan, to which Edinburgh’s Mathew Currie and Rory Jackson responded.

Rufus McLean kicked a penalty to take the capital side within two points of the hosts as the visitors put up a fight for the full 80 minutes, but in the end could not catch their opponents.

For the final match of the evening, all was to play for with both regions securing a win each, but it was Borders & East Lothian that turned up to score three tries through Finlay Scott, Ruari Campbell and Gary Munro (who also kicked four penalties) and a conversion from Kyle Brunton.

The match ended 29-7 to the Borders side, as Edinburgh’s Jamie Miller scored a try which was converted by Ben Appleson.

The next set of regional fixtures take place on Sunday at Kings Park, Aberdeen, as Glasgow & The West U16 and U18 sides take on their Edinburgh counterparts, while Caledonia U16 and U18 face Borders & East Lothian’s U16 and U18 teams.

The 22-match series will feature a number of BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy players alongside hundreds of others who have been identified and developed by their respective regions after being nominated by their clubs and schools, and will culminate in the Finals Day at BT Murrayfield on Sunday 13 August (all fixtures free to attend).

Borders & East Lothian U16 14-34 Edinburgh U16

Borders: Kieran Clark (Earlston HS / Melrose); Clark Young (Selkirk HS / Selkirk), Patrick Harrison (Peebles HS / Peebles), Struan Wells (Peebles HS / Peebles), Adamo Antonacci (Hawick HS / Hawick); Christian Townsend (Earlston HS / Melrose), Cameron Scott (Preston Lodge HS / Preston Lodge); Thomas Peden (Ross HS / Ross), Euan Macrury (Dunbar HS / Dunbar), Archie Bogle (Eyemouth HS / Duns), Charlie Farmer (Loretto School), Rudi Brown (Merchiston Castle School / Melrose), Ruaridh Lindsay (Earlston HS / Melrose), Callum Folan (Earlston HS / Melrose), Rhys Tait (Hawick HS / Hawick). Replacements: Gordon Lumsden (Preston Lodge HS / Preston Lodge), Jamie Clarke (Earlston HS / Melrose), Moray Haldane (Selkirk HS / Selkirk), Ben Chisholm (Dunbar Grammar School / Dunbar), Andrew Syme (Knox Academy / Haddington), Aiden Bambrick (Jedburgh Gramma School / Jedburgh), Jamie Crooks (Galashiels Academy / Gala), Charlie Ross (Dunbar Grammar School / Dunbar).

Edinburgh: Finlay Scanlon (George Heriot’s School / Currie); Angus Hoffie (George Watson’s College), Angus Cousin (George Watson’s College), Jamie Thompson (Stewart’s Melville College), Ryan Daly (George Watsons College); Daniel Troup (The Edinburgh Academy), Ben Grainger (Royal High School); Kaysan Davidson (Stewart’s Melville College), Fergal Crerar (The Edinburgh Academy), Finlay Small (Boroughmuir HS / Boroughmuir), Blair Watson (Royal High School), Gregor Scougall (George Watson’s College / Currie), Michael Jones (Boroughmuir), Alex Geddes (Merchiston Castle School), Ewan Henderson (Royal High School). Replacements: Duncan Hood (Stewart’s Melville College), Callum McGregor (Boroughmuir HS), Luke Harrison (George Heriot’s School), Callum Anderson (George Heriot’s School), Luke Hutchinson (George Watson’s College), Cameron Lawrence (Stewart’s Melville College), Andrew McCall (Currie), Douglas Blood (George Heriot’s School).

Borders & East Lothian U18 15-13 Edinburgh U18

Borders: Mully Bannerman (Hawick HS / Hawick); Alex Clarke (Preston Lodge HS / Preston Lodge), Matthew Kindness (Kelso), Scott King (Preston Lodge HS / Preston Lodge), Lucas Reid (Borders College / Melrose); Scott Clark (Preston Lodge HS / Preston Lodge), Roan Frostwick (North Berwick / North Berwick); Thomas Jeffrey (Borders College / Peebles), Kyle Scott (Preston Lodge), Mak Wilson (Duns), Cameron Brown (Kelso HS / Kelso), Jack Fisher (Preston Lodge HS / Preston Lodge), Jordan Hare (Preston Lodge HS / Preston Lodge), Stuart Hunter (Peebles HS / Peebles), Ben Muncaster (North Berwick). Replacements: Ryan Toogood (Borders College / Hawick), Euan Bonthron (Musselburgh Grammas School / Musselburgh), Robert Hastie (Kelso HS / Kelso), Lanyon Rowley (Earlston HS / Melrose), Eck Allan (North Berwick HS / North Berwick), Kyle McGhee (Loretto School), Vangjel Kacori (Ross HS / Ross), Robbie Tweedie (Kelso HS / Kelso).  

Edinburgh: Lewis Reid (Boroughmuir); Brodie McLean (Eton College), Mungo Harley (Fettes College), Matthew Currie (Merchiston Castle School), Dean Anderson (Merchiston Castle School); Rufus McLean (Merchiston Castle School), Jamie Dobie (Merchiston Castle School); Finlay Miller (Trinity Academy / BATs), Rory Jackson (The Edinburgh Academy), Dan Gamble (Merchiston Castle School), Stewart Sutherland (Royal High School), Kieran Watt (Watsonians), Teni Adeola (Fettes College), Gavin Inkster (Boroughmuir), Tyler Thomas (Merchiston Castle School). Replacements: Scott Habib (Firhill HS / Boroughmuir), Frank Speirs (BATs), Michael Gray (Boroughmuir), Struan Whittaker (Trinity Academy / BATs), Andrew Hoggarth (Clifton Hall School), Fin Stewart (Merchiston Castle School), Sam Fursman (Eton College), Ellis Low (Trinity Academy / BATs).    

Borders & East Lothian U20 29-7 Edinburgh U20

Borders: Gary McWilliam (Melrose); Duncan Hardie (Berwick), Patrick Anderson* (Melrose), Matthew Klein (Melrose), Liam Cook (Musselburgh); Kyle Brunton* (Hawick), Gary Munro* (Hawick); Finn Hobbis* (Watsonians), Finlay Scott* (Jedburgh Forest), Ben McLean (Melrose), Lewis Govenlock (Aberdeen Grammar / North Berwick), Euan Jackson (Heriot’s), Guy Graham (Hawick), Conall Howard (Aberdeen HS / Melrose), Ruari Campbell (Melrose). Replacements: Will Owen (Melrose), Jack Dobie (Melrose), Thomas Brown* (Melrose), Ross McConnell (Melrose), Garry Young (Jedburgh Forest), Kieran Slingsby (Jedburgh Forest), Nik Stingl (Kelso), Cameron Grant (Scotland Exiles).

Edinburgh: Ben Appleson (Edinburgh Accies); Callum Martin (Watsonians), Cameron Symes (Stewart’s Melville), Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks), Connor Lane (Dundee University); Murray Ross (Watsonians), Fraser Peters (Watsonians); Michael Calder (Watsonians), Campbell Wilson (Currie), Ewan Malloch (Watsonians), Dean Roger* (Edinburgh Accies), Jamie Hodgson* (Watsonians), Jack Mann (Edinburgh Accies), Jamie Miller* (Unattached), Callum Rowberry (Stewart’s Melville). Replacements: Kevin Jenkins (Edinburgh Accies), Cameron Harrison (Currie), Jamie Morrison (Stewart’s Melville / St Andrew’s University), Josh O’Brien (Currie), Jack Bruce (Edinburgh Accies), Robert Greenshields (Unattached), Grant Innes (Boroughmuir), Ian Kay (Heriot’s). 

*BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy supported player