John Dalziel announces Scotland 7s squad for Sydney

Edinburgh Rugby duo Sean Kennedy and Glenn Bryce are included in the Scotland 7s squad travelling to Sydney for the third leg of the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series.

Scotland have been drawn in a tough pool alongside hosts Australia, USA and Canada and will be boosted by the fact that two of their three pool games will kick off in the evening with day time temperatures predicted to top 30 degrees at Allianz Stadium.

Dalziel has called upon uncapped Alec Coombes from London Scottish. The 22-year-old is a wing/centre in the XV-a-side game and played 10 times for Scotland U20s during the 2014/15 season.

Glenn Bryce remains in the squad having played well in Cape Town and is joined by Edinburgh Rugby teammate Sean Kennedy who last represented the 7s in Las Vegas last season.

Scotland 7s Head Coach John Dalziel said: “We’re trying to strengthen the depth of the 7s squad and had some young guys play their first tournaments in Dubai and Cape Town and do really well.

“Sean and Glenn bring experience to the squad and Alec Coombes, who has come through the age-grade system, has really impressed in the last three weeks of training with us so he gets a shot to go and compete.

“We’re expecting some real physicality from the three teams in our pool. They’re all form teams and we’re going to have to match their dynamism and power if we’re going to get anything out of the tournament.”


Scotland 7s fixtures in the third leg of the World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series in Sydney, Friday 26 – Sunday 28 January. Kick-offs UK time, live on Sky Sports.

26 January

9.34am Scotland 7s v Canada 7s


27 January

5.53am Scotland 7s v USA 7s

9.04pm Scotland 7s v Australia 7s


28 Januray


Scotland 7s squad to compete in Sydney (World Series tournaments in brackets)

1. Scott Riddell (59) (C)

2. Harvey Elms (2)

3. Hugh Blake (18)

4. Glenn Bryce (10)

5. Sean Kennedy (7)

6. Jo Nayacavou (30)

7. Jamie Farndale (23)

8. Robbie Fergusson (2)

9. Alec Coombes (0)

10. Gavin Lowe (18)

11. Max McFarland (2)

12. Jack Cuthbert (5)

13. Ross McCann (2)


Core players unavailable: Dougie Fife (Edinburgh Rugby), James Fleming (shoulder injury), James Johnstone (Edinburgh Rugby), Nick McLennan (arm injury), Sam Pecqueur (leg injury).