Scotland Women name team to face Ireland

Captain Lisa Martin returns to the Scotland Women starting line-up for this Sunday’s Six Nations match versus Ireland in Dublin (11 March, Donnybrook Stadium, kick-off 1pm) – live streamed by Women’s Six Nations.

Scotland Women Head Coach Shade Munro has named an unchanged pack and makes positional changes in the backline to accommodate Martin, who returns after recovering from an eye problem.

Helen Nelson moves to inside centre from fly-half and Hannah Smith takes a spot on the wing after starting at centre against England.

Jade Konkel, try-scorer in round 3, continues at number 8 while her fellow full-time professionals, Chloe Rollie, Lisa Thomson and Sarah Law retain their places in the backs.

Shade Munro said: “There have been positives to take from all of our games so far but it is about building on those, identifying what we can do better and putting in a complete performance.

“Playing games away from home always adds to that challenge but we will concentrate on pushing ourselves and controlling what we can.

Last year’s match against Ireland was incredibly close and we can expect the same kind of commitment for 80 minutes from them this time round so we will need to stay focused.”

Last year's fixture at Broadwood saw Ireland snatch victory in dramatic fashion in the 82nd minute to win the game 22-15.

Katie Dougan, who played as a replacement in that match, could win her tenth cap if she comes on from the bench while Jenny Maxwell returns to the matchday 23 having played in the team’s opening two games of the championship.

Scotland put in determined performances against France and England in front of consecutive record crowds at Scotstoun following a narrow defeat away to Wales in their opening match.

Ireland have won two games in a row after succumbing 24-0 to a powerful French side in their opening fixture and will be full of confidence after recording a try bonus point against Wales. 

Scotland team to play Ireland in Women’s Six Nations

 Sunday 11 March (kick-off 1pm)


15. Chloe Rollie** (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois)


14. Liz Musgrove (Edinburgh University)

13. Lisa Thomson** (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois)

12. Helen Nelson* (Murrayfield Wanderers)

11. Hannah Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill)


10. Lisa Martin* CAPTAIN (DMP Sharks)

9. Sarah Law** (Edinburgh University/Murrayfield Wanderers)


1. Siobhan McMillan (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

2. Lana Skeldon* (Watsonians)

3. Megan Kennedy* (Stirling County)

4. Emma Wassell* (Murrayfield Wanderers)

5. Deborah McCormack (Harlequins)

6. Sarah Bonar (Loughborough Lightning)

7. Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning)

8. Jade Konkel** (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois)




16. Jodie Rettie (Thurrock)

17. Katie Dougan (Edinburgh University/RHC Cougars)

18. Lindsey Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

19. Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County/Stirling Univeristy)

20. Louise McMillan* (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

21. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)

22. Lauren Harris* (Edinburgh University)

23. Rhona Lloyd* (Edinburgh University)


* BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Supported Player 2017/18

** BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 Player 2017/18


Scotland Women close the tournament in Italy next week (Sunday 18 March, Stadio Plebiscito, kick-off 2pm GMT).