Scotland Women make two changes to starting team for Italy

Head Coach Shade Munro has made two changes to the starting XV ahead of Scotland Women’s final Six Nations match versus Italy in Padova this Sunday (18 March, Stadio Plebiscito, kick-off 2pm GMT) – live streamed by Six Nations.

Centre and full-time professional Lisa Thomson drops out of the squad after picking up a shoulder injury and Hannah Smith, who started on the wing last week, moves to outside centre.

Winger Lauren Harris moves from the bench to make her first start of the championship.

Eilidh Sinclair, who came on as a replacement versus England at Scotstoun earlier in the tournament, joins the replacements.

In the forwards, Lindsey Smith, who has 41 caps for her country, comes in to the front-row at tighthead prop with Siobhan McMillan moving to the bench alongside sister Louise.

The Round 4 victory over Ireland was Scotland’s first Six Nations away win since beating the same team in Navan in 2006.

Shade Munro said: “Getting the result last week was fantastic. The whole team showed the desire needed to win test matches and they put in the defensive effort to back it up.

“Italy are coming into this game after a fantastic bonus point away win at the Principality Stadium. In beating Wales, they showed what an effective attacking team they are and how much they have progressed during this season’s Six Nations.

It will be a really exciting challenge as both teams strive to maintain that winning feeling and finish the championship on a high.”

In last year’s Women’s Six Nations the Scots beat Italy for the first time since 2009 when they defended a two-point half-time lead at Broadwood. The result saw the Scotland team finish a joint-record high of fourth in the table.

Italy’s win last week was their first of the championship after suffering defeats to Ireland, England and France.


Scotland team to play Italy in Women’s Six Nations

 Sunday 18 March (kick-off 2pm GMT)


15. Chloe Rollie** (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois)


14. Liz Musgrove (Edinburgh University)

13. Hannah Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

12. Helen Nelson* (Murrayfield Wanderers)

11. Lauren Harris* (Edinburgh University)


10. Lisa Martin* CAPTAIN (DMP Sharks)

9. Sarah Law** (Edinburgh University/Murrayfield Wanderers)


1.Megan Kennedy* (Stirling County)

2. Lana Skeldon* (Watsonians)

3. Lindsey Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

4. Emma Wassell* (Murrayfield Wanderers)

5. Deborah McCormack (Harlequins)

6. Sarah Bonar (Loughborough Lightning)

7. Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning)

8. Jade Konkel** (Lille Metropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois)




16. Jodie Rettie (Thurrock)

17. Siobhan McMillan (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

18. Katie Dougan (Edinburgh University/RHC Cougars)

19. Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County/Stirling Univeristy)

20. Louise McMillan* (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

21. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)

22. Eilidh Sinclair (Murrayfield Wanderers)

23. Rhona Lloyd* (Edinburgh University)


* BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Supported Player 2017/18

** BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 Player 2017/18