U20 | Scotland side named for World Championship opener

Head Coach Bryan Redpath has named the Scotland U20 team to face Italy U20 at Béziers’ Stade de la Méditerranée in the opening fixture of the World Rugby U20 Championship this Wednesday (30 May, kick-off 5.30pm GMT/ 6.30pm local time) – streamed live on worldrugby.org.

In Redpath’s first competitive game in charge, the team selection includes just three changes to the side that faced the Italians in the final match of the U20 Six Nations in March as centre Cameron Hutchison, hooker Finlay Scott and prop Ross Dunbar are named in the starting XV, while 12 of the matchday 23 have progressed through the BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy.

Full-back Paddy Dewhirst and winger Logan Trotter – both try scorers against Italy two months ago – are joined in the back-three by Kyle Rowe.

In the midfield, Hutchison returns to the starting XV after missing the entirety of the U20 Six Nations campaign due to injury. The Currie Chieftains star is named in the centre alongside Scotland captain Stafford McDowall.

Stand-off Ross Thompson and Gloucester’s Charlie Chapman continue their half-back partnership.

In the front-row, Jed-Forest hooker Scott makes his Scotland U20 debut and will pack down alongside props Dunbar and Finlay Richardson.

Jamie Hodgson and Racing Metro 92’s Ewan Johnson are named in the second-row, while Martin Hughes, Rory Darge and Northampton Saints’ Devante Onojaife complete the back-row.

Head Coach, Redpath, said: “The squad have trained well since arriving in France last week and I’ve been impressed with their commitment and desire to get better every day.

“We’ve chosen a side who we feel are the best prepared to go into Wednesday’s match. We’re focused and in a good place.

“Italy are a strong team and a side we obviously know well after facing them in the U20 Six Nations. We’ve got to manage the game in the right areas, while our set-piece has to be spot on. We’re all really looking forward to the challenge.”

Scotland U20 team to face Italy U20 at Stade de la Méditerranée in the World Rugby U20 Championship this Wednesday 30 March (kick-off 5.30pm GMT/ 6.30pm local time) – streamed live on worldrugby.org


15. Paddy Dewhirst (Ayr)*


14. Logan Trotter (Stirling County)*

13. Cameron Hutchison (Currie Chieftains)**

12. Stafford McDowall (Ayr)** CAPTAIN

11. Kyle Rowe (Glasgow Hawks)


10. Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks)*

9. Charlie Chapman (Gloucester)


1. Ross Dunbar (Boroughmuir)*

2. Finlay Scott (Jed-Forest)*

3. Finlay Richardson (Edinburgh Accies)

4. Ewan Johnson (Racing Metro 92)

5. Jamie Hodgson (Watsonians)

6. Martin Hughes (Heriot’s)*

7. Rory Darge (Melrose)*

8. Devante Onojaife (Northampton Saints)




16. Robbie Smith (Ayr)**

17. Sam Grahamslaw (Leicester Tigers)

18. Murphy Walker (Strathallan School)*

19. Charlie Jupp (Heriot’s)*

20. Guy Graham (Newcastle Falcons)

21. Charlie Gowling (Stade Francais)

22. Callum McLelland (Edinburgh Rugby)

23. Fraser Strachan (Northampton Saints)


*BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy supported players 2017/18

**BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 players 2017/18