U20 | Redpath names settled side for Georgia showdown

Head Coach Bryan Redpath has named the Scotland U20 team to face Georgia U20 at Béziers’ Stade de la Mediterranee in the World Rugby U20 Championship 9th place play-off this Sunday (17 June, kick-off 12.30pm BST/ 1.30pm local time) – streamed live on worldrugby.org.

As Scotland look to secure a 9th place finish, the team selection includes just two changes from the side who defeated Ireland 45-29 in Tuesday’s semi-final, while the squad contains 13 players who’ve progressed through the BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy.

Both alterations are included within the front-eight as Boroughmuir’s Ross Dunbar is named at loosehead prop in place of Sam Grahamslaw - who drops to the bench – while Newcastle Falcons’ Guy Graham gets the nod at blindside flanker.

On his team selection, Redpath, said: “We were obviously delighted with how the squad performed against Ireland. We showed a lot of heart to battle back and ultimately ended the match as deserved winners.

“There are still a lot of areas where we need to be better, but I was really pleased with the way we attacked the Irish defence, while we competed really well at the breakdown.

The boys have again trained excellently as we prepare to face a really dangerous Georgia side, but we’ll look to carry our momentum into the clash and finish the tournament in as high a position as possible.

An unchanged back-three sees Paddy Dewhirst named at full-back alongside wingers Logan Trotter and Kyle Rowe – both try-scorers in the win over Ireland.

Captain Stafford McDowall is once again named at inside-centre alongside Currie Chieftains’ Cameron Hutchison, while Gloucester’s Charlie Chapman partners stand-off Callum McLelland at half-back.

The inclusion of Dunbar is the only alteration to an otherwise unchanged front-row as Finlay Richardson – who grabbed a brace against Ireland – is named at tight-head prop alongside hooker Robbie Smith.

Jamie Hodgson and Marshall Sykes once again line-up in the second-row, while Northampton Saints’ Devante Onojaife is selected at number eight, with flankers Graham and Rory Darge forming the remainder of the back-row.


Scotland U20 team to face Georgia U20 at 
Stade de la Mediterranee in the World Rugby U20 Championship 9th place play-off this Sunday 17 June (kick-off 12.30pm BST/ 1.30pm local time) – streamed live on worldrugby.org


 15. Paddy Dewhirst (Ayr)*


14. Logan Trotter (Stirling County)*

13. Cameron Hutchison (Currie Chieftains)**

12. Stafford McDowall (Ayr)** CAPTAIN

11. Kyle Rowe (Glasgow Hawks)


10. Callum McLelland (Edinburgh)

9. Charlie Chapman (Gloucester)


1. Ross Dunbar (Boroughmuir)*

2. Robbie Smith (Ayr)**

3. Finlay Richardson (Edinburgh Accies)

4. Jamie Hodgson (Watsonians)*

5. Marshall Sykes (St Joseph’s College)

6. Guy Graham (Newcastle Falcons)

7. Rory Darge (Melrose)*

8. Devante Onojaife (Northampton Saints)




16. Finlay Scott (Jed-Forest)*

17. Sam Grahamslaw (Leicester Tigers)

18. Murphy Walker (Strathallan School)*

19. Charlie Jupp (Heriot’s)*

20. James Miller (Watsonians)*

21. Charlie Gowling (Stade Francais)

22. Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks)*

23. Fraser Strachan (Northampton Saints)


*BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy supported players 2017/18

**BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 players 2017/18