Scots Ring Changes For Second Fira Match

Scotland under-18 have made nine changes in personnel and a further positional switch for their second match in the FIRA/AER championship in Spain tomorrow (Tuesday 3 April).

Following their narrow loss to France in their opening match last weekend, the Scots face their Portuguese counterparts at 11am local time at Madrid University tomorrow. Scotland under-18 head coach Eddie Pollock explained the selection was about making best use of the squad given that their third match of the competition would take place on Saturday by which point they will have played five Test matches in 20 days.


Alex Glashan will captain Scotland under-18 against their Portuguese counterparts 

“Portugal were very physical with a good scrum and strong defence in their previous game against Ireland where they were very competitive, so this will be another big test for us.

“It’s really important we get our setpiece right, which was vastly improved against France and strive to work off quick contacts,” Pollock added.

Alex Glashan (pictured), a survivor of the Scotland under-18 squad from last season will lead the team from scrum-half  and other players making their first start are props D'arcy Rae and Ross Murray, lock Duncan Campbell, back-row forwards Tommy Spinks and Robbie Tait, stand-off Ben Cooper, wing Sam Moncur and centre Frankie Robson.

Chris Dean switches to No 8 from openside flanker, while hooker, outside centre, right wing and full-back are unchanged.

Meanwhile prop Phil Cringle has had to return home injured (knee) and has been replaced by Cameron Fenton (Strathallan/Howe of Fife).

Scotland under-18 v Portugal under-18 in the FIRA/AER European under-18 championship in Madrid tomorrow, kick-off 11am local time

15 Gavin Lowe (Ayr)*

14 Ed Farquharson (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby/Cults Academy)
13 Cameron Mackenzie-Lawrie (Warwick School)
12 Frankie Robson (Kelso HS/Kelso)
11 Sam Moncur (St Ambrose College/Sale Sharks)

10 Ben Cooper (Sedbergh School)
9 Alex Glashan (Edinburgh Academy) CAPTAIN *

1 D’arcy Rae (Kilmarnock) *
2 Blair Jardine (Kilmarnock/Carrick Academy)
3 Ross Murray (Dollar Academy/Stirling County) *
4 Duncan Campbell (Robert Gordon’s College/Mackie Academy FP) *
5 Neil Irvine-Hess (George Watson’s College)*
6 Tommy Spinks (Fettes College)
7 Robbie Tait (Millfield)
8 Chris Dean (Edinburgh Academy) *

16 James Malcolm (Hutchesons’ GS/GHA)
17 Chris Barnes (HS of Glasgow/Glasgow Hawks) *
18 Cameron Fenton (Strathallan/Howe of Fife)
19 Andrew Cramond (Royal HS/BATS)
20 Cameron Simpson (Edinburgh Academy)
21 Cameron Turner (Robert Gordon’s College) *
22 Murdo McAndrew (Howe of Fife/Strathallan)
23 Callum Irvine (Harrogate)
24 Neil Herron (West of Scotland/Jordanhill School) *
25 Shaun MacDonald (Dunblane HS/Stirling County) *
26 Sam Pecqueur (Trinity Academy)

* = Scottish Institute of Sport supported player 2011/2012