Confident Win For Young Scots

Scotland under-18 put five tries on Newcastle under-18s on Sunday (19 August) in a thrilling 32-5 victory at Ryton Rugby Club, just west of the city.

Tries for the young Scots came from wingers Angus Rennie and Ruaridh Smith (with two), full-back Gavin Lowe and prop Andrew McWilliam, respectively. Stand-off George Horne also added two conversions and one penalty to their tally.

The side looked sharp from the start crossing the whitewash three times before the end of the first half and going in at the break 20-5 up. In the second half another two tries were scored and Newcastle didn’t get anymore points on the score board.

Scotland under-18 head coach, Eddie Pollock, said: “This was a very good start to our season. We scored five well-worked tries, our forwards ran with a lot of power and our back three finished very well.

The defence was also sound and we recorded a high tackle count. There was a half an hour period, 20 minutes before half-time and ten minutes after, where the team were really sharp.

“There were a few mistakes in the match and we were a bit slack at times so there is still work to be done, but all in all this was very positive.”

Scotland under-18 will now rejoin their school or club teams before reassembling for a two-week camp in October. This will then be followed by district championship matches which will double up as trial matches.

Scotland under-18 Team: Gavin Lowe (Auchinleck Academy / Ayr); Angus Rennie (Gordon Schools / Aberdeen GSFP), Matthew Douglas (Newcastle Academy / Hawick YM), Richard Taylor (Earlston High School / Melrose), Ruaridh Smith (Oakham School / Northampton Saints); George Horne (Strathallan School / Howe of Fife), Ben Vellacott (Ivybridge College / Barnstable); William Dineen (Dollar Academy / Stirling County), Grant Stewart (Strathaven Academy / Dalziel), Andrew McWilliam (Edinburgh Academy / Currie), Matt  Poole (George Watson's College), Nick Gray (Trent College), Scot Burnside (North Berwick High School) (captain), Karl Main (Dunbar Grammar School / Dunbar), Magnus Bradbury (Merchiston Castle School / Oban Lorne).

Replacements: Ross Graham (Hawick PSA) (on for G. Stewart), Rory Mason (Ashfield / Paviors) (on for W. Dineen), Angus Wallace (Angus Wallace / Deeside) (on for A. McWilliam), Neil Irvine-Hess (Geroge Watson's College) (not used), Rory Simpson (Edinburgh Academy) (on for M. Poole), Luke Earl-Wright (Robert Gordon's College / Deeside) (on for B. Vellacott), Harry Walker (Glasgow Academy / Glasgow Hawks) (on for M. Douglas), Archie Russell (Stirling County) (on for A. Rennie)