Caledonia and Edinburgh triumph

There was a pulsating match in the regional under-16 fixtures which saw Caledonia beat Glasgow 20-7 on Murarayfield’s back pitches.

Last night’s high tempo match saw two sets of backs competing fiercely, with Caledonia having a slight edge, resulting in a win for the northern side.

Glasgow Coach Rory Couper said: “It was competitive up front but I’d say Glasgow got the nod in the scrum.

I was speaking to the boys in the changing room and they said it was a far quicker pace than they were used to playing at school and club level which made for a challenging game.”

Try scorers for Caledonia were Gregor Haldane (Dollar Academy), Jonny Grant (Highland) and Kaleem Barreto (Perthshire) with Haldane also scoring a conversion and a penalty and the try scorer for Glasgow was Michael Manning (Ayr), with Stafford McDowell (Stewartry) converting.

Meanwhile, Edinburgh’s clash against the Borders saw the capital side beat their rivals 45-7.

Despite the result, the Borders kept up the intensity throughout the entire 80 minutes, though unfortunately it wasn’t enough.

The scorer from the Borders was Gary Munro (Jed Thistle), who converted his own try, and scorers for Edinburgh were Ewan Mallock (Watsonians), Ben Appleson (Edinburgh Academy), Sam Yawayawa (Boroughmuir), Andrew Horne (Preston Lodge), Camran Ferrier (Fettes College), Jack Paterson (Currie) and Kelvin Chen (Boroughmuir) with Ben Appleson scoring five conversions.

The next round at Murrayfield will take place next Wednesday (5 March) with Caledonia going head-to-head with Edinburgh and Glasgow taking on the Borders. 

Caledonia team: Bruce Sorbet; Jack Bruce, Mark New, Ewan Fox, Paul Paxton; Gregor Haldane, Callum Addy; Charlie Cass, Rehan Baig, Keir Hail-Brown, Euan Milton, Lachlan Menzies, Sean Gauld, Cameron Gray and Matt Fagerson.

Replacements: Lewis McLean, Murdo Sinclair, Jonny Grant, Paul Kidd, Murray Anderson, Kaleem Barreto, Ruaridh Leader and Ben Eynon.

Glasgow team: Aaron Tait; Aaron Purewal, Gregor Paxton, Charlie Lonerghan, Scott Derrick; Stafford McDowell, Michael Manning; Paul Cairncross, Graham Allan, Ryan Dunlop, Kyle Wood, Matthew Northcote, Fraser Curran, Craig McCall and Lloyd Clark.

Replacements: Luis Barron, Michael Scott, Kyle McNulty, Ryan Sweeney, Ross Jackson, Lewis Young, Peter Burns and Mark Conlan.

Edinburgh team: Ben Appleson; Sam Yawayawa, Alex Mackay, Nick Peters, Ross McCann; Benn Morris, Charlie Shiel; Ross Dunbar, Calum Harris, Ewan Mallock, Hamish Bain, Andrew Horne, Kenneth Drummond, Camran Ferrier and Campbell Duns.

Replacements: Cameron Watson, Calum Eastwood, Finlay Richardson, Iain Steven, Fergus Haig, Fraser Peters, Kelvin Chen and Jack Paterson.

Borders team: Buster Davidson; Calum Young, Thomas Klein, Robbie Yourston, Aiden Turner; Robbie Chalmers, Gary Munro; Gary Clarkson, Finlay Scott, Calum Braid, Ruari Campbell, Damon Little, Andrew Forrest, Connall Howard and Kieran Slingsby.

Replacement: Tom Smith, Nathan Smith, Jack Scott, Ewan Jackson, James Montgomery, Kyle Brunton, Logan Gordon-Wolley and Patrick Anderson.