Scotland U16 26-14 England (North)

Scotland Under-16 beat England (North) at the 2014 BMW Wellington International Festival today.

The Scots had drawn 29-29 with Wales Druids on Sunday ahead of their second game of the tournament this morning.

Despite a scoreless first-half the game was played at a fast pace and there were chances for both sides.

England had the opportunity to go ahead after 24 minutes when they were awarded a penalty, but the kick was missed and the sides went in all square at the break.

The second-half was a different story though with a flurry of tries for both sides.

On 50 minutes the Scots went ahead with Bruce Sorbie touching down, although Gregor Haldane missed the conversion.

Seven minutes later Scotland increased their lead with Sam Yawayawa crossing the whitewash and Haldane this time converting to make it 12-0.

England got a try and conversion back after 63 minutes but Scotland got their third of the game four minutes later through Charlie Shiel, with Gregor Haldane adding the extras to make 19-7.

A fourth try for Scotland followed through Thomas Klein, which Haldane converted and despite a late try and conversion from England, it was Scotland who were victorious ahead of their final game with England Under-16 on Saturday.

Scotland under-16 squad:

Graham Allan (St Columba's School), Hamish Bain (Portobello High School), Paul Cairncross (East Kilbride / Calderglen High School), Kenneth Drummond (George Watson's College/Watsonians), Matthew Fagerson (Dundee Eagles / Strathallan School), Ewan Fox (Dundee Eagles / High School of Dundee), Gregor Haldane (Stirling County / Dollar Academy), Andrew Horne (Preston Lodge RFC / Preston Lodge High School), Charlie Lonergan (GHA / St Aloysius' College), Ross McCann (Royal High Cougars / Royal High School), Gary Munro (Jed Thistle RFC / Jedburgh Grammar School), Mark New (Mackie RFC / Mackie Academy), Gregor Paxton (Kilmarnock RFC / Grange Academy), Charlie Shiel (Royal High Cougars / Royal High School), Bruce Sorbie (Robert Gordon's College), Aaron Tait (Ayr RFC / Wellington School), Sam Yawayawa (Boroughmuir RFC / Firhill High School), Callum Eastwood (George Watson's College/Watsonians), Lloyd Clark (Moffat RFC / Austin Friars), Thomas Klein (Melrose / Earlston High School), Ewan Malloch (George Watson's College/Watsonians), George Blackwell (Kirkham Grammar School), Jamie Ross (Marbella RFC / Bayside Comprehensive School), Ralph Johnston (Wigton RUFC / Nelson Tomlinson School), Alan Gregory (Cambridge RUFC / Kings, Ely), Ben Scoular (Old Leamingtonians RFC / Warwick School)