BT Premiership

The BT Premiership is Scottish Rugby’s premier club competition, played over nine months between August and April. The competition is made up of ten teams who represent all four of Scotland’s regions. The current champions are Heriots who claimed the trophy after an epic finale against Melrose at Goldenacre.

Heriots win the BT Premiership trophy - 2014/15Heriots win the BT Premiership trophy - 2014/15

The 2015/16 BT Premiership will see a continuation of top 4 play-offs introduced for the first time last season. At the end of the regular season, the teams finishing in the top 4 places play in the semi-final play-offs, with the sides occupying 1st and 2nd in the league table benefitting from home advantage.

After 18 rounds of gruelling matches this season's semi-final play offs featured; Ayr, Currie, Heriots and Melrose. The games were held on Saturday 2 April and saw Ayr defeat Melrose at Millbrae to set up a final with last season's champions Heriot's who overcame Currie at Malleny Park.

As the highest placed winner of the semi-finals Ayr earned home advantage for the final against Heriot's which will take place on Saturday 23 April (3pm). The match will be streamed live on Scottish Rugby TV's YouTube channel so if you're unable to make it on the day be sure to tune in online.

Relegation from the BT Premiership will follow the same format as last year's competition – At the end of the regular season the bottom placed team in the BT Premiership (Selkirk) will be automatically relegated to BT National League Division 1 with the winner of the latter (Watsonians) receiving automatic promotion.

The team who finishes 2nd bottom of the BT Premiership (Gala) will take on the 2nd placed team from BT National League Division 1 (Marr) in a play-off on Saturday 23 April. The winner will claim the last remaining place in the BT Premiership.

Fixtures, Results and Standings in the BT Premiership

BT Premiership 2015/16 Play-off Fixtures and Results