Scottish Rugby Council

The Scottish Rugby Council is elected by the rugby clubs to monitor and oversee the operation of the Scottish Rugby Board.

Scottish Rugby Council members, Season 2020/21

  • Ian Barr, President

    Ian is currently managing the family farming and sportsground contracting business and is a spin Instructor for Midlothian Council. Ian was President of Lasswade RFC for 15 years, served on the Scottish Rugby Council from 2012-2017 with 2 years on the Board and was a Scotland under 20 Ambassador from 2013 -2017.

  • Colin Rigby, Vice-President

    Colin Rigby joined the council following the 2017 AGM. Prior to this Colin served as National 1 Council Secretary and has been involved in various forum working parties over the preceding 8 years. Colin has served as Chairman of Stewart's Melville RFC since 2016 and is a Director of Stewart's Melville RFC Ltd, prior to this Colin was club President for 3 years and has held various other roles within the club. A former ERRS referee Colin has also been involved in the set up and creation of Stewart's Melville Rugby Academy and the junior section. In December 2017 Colin joined the Council Standing Committee on Governance.

  • Gordon Thomson, Premier Division representative
  • William Gardner, Glasgow North Regional League representative

    Appointed to the Board at the 2018 AGM

    William is a past President and Life Member of Lanark Rugby Football Club.He was re-elected as the Glasgow North Representative on the SRU Council in 2019 and is also a Council Representative on the Advisory Group to the West Regional Academy Group. He is a Trustee of the Murrayfield Injured Players Foundation.

  • Jonathan Anderson, Schools representative
  • Kenneth Knott, Referees' representative

    Kenneth was an active member , secretary then president of the Highland Rugby Referee Society until being elected to the SRU council as the Referees rep. He also served on the Scottish Rugby Referee Association executive including working on the governance and communication working groups.

  • Rosy Hume, Scottish Women's Forum representative

    Rosy Hume has been a member of Murrayfield Wanderers RFC for almost 20 years, having started her playing career at Heriot Watt University.

    She was also the Manager of the Scottish Women’s Rugby XV for 4 years, during which time they won the European Championships. Rosy also served as Vice Chair of the SWRU and was part of the team working towards the full integration of Women’s Rugby with the SRU.

    She also serves as the Council Ambassador with the Scottish Women’s Team.

  • Alistair Forsyth, Scottish Borders Regional representative

    Alistair has been a member of the Earlston club for 40 years, from player to serving various committee roles, ultimately being President Seasons 1996-1998. A graduate of Heriot- Watt University he also played rugby whilst attending. Following on from hanging up his boots he was elected on the then Scottish Borders Rugby Union Board. He is a past secretary of the Border League. Alistair is currently employed by Scottish Borders Council as Senior Quantity Surveyor.

  • Hazel Swankie, Midlands Regional representative

    Hazel has been a member of Dunfermline RFC since the late 90's. She initially got involved in the fundraising and sponsoring of the club. She joined the Management Committee as secretary in 2008 and still holds this position. She has also been fixture and referee secretary, Vice President and the first female President of the club. During her time in these roles, Hazel has gained a good understanding of what challenges clubs face on a daily basis in trying to remain sustainable and financially viable.

  • Bob Richmond, North Regional representative

    Bob joined Mackie FPs at its inception in 1976 and has been involved ever since. He has been on the committee for 42 years and served as Captain , Treasurer, Vice President , President three times and coach. Bob is currently Hon President and Chairman. He also worked with North East Hurricanes for 12 years and has a wealth of coaching experience. He spent 10 years on the old north district committee and more recently has been on the Caledonia Championship Committee for five years.

  • Murdo Gillanders, Edinburgh Regional representative

    Murdo has been involved in Scottish club rugby for many years playing for Kelvinside Accies and GHK in his native Glasgow, before moving through to Edinburgh and joining Lismore. He is a past captain, coach and President of Lismore. Murdo is also Hon Vice President and Senior Adviser to University of Edinburgh Sports Union and Trustee of Murrayfield Injured Players Foundation.

  • Jim O’Neill, Glasgow South Regional League Representative

    Jim O'Neill has been involved in rugby all his adult life. He has been a youth coach, team Manager, Youth Convenor, and President at Irvine Rugby Club and is currently Secretary of the club. He is also a former member of Council. Now retired, Jim was a teacher, trade union official for teachers, local authority Councillor, and Parliamentary researcher and speechwriter. In retirement, he is a Chair of Children's Panels, Director of 1st Alliance Credit Union and Director and former chair of Atrium Homes.

  • Malcolm Offord, Exiles Representative
  • Gerry Tosh, National Division 1 Representative
  • Eric Hugh, National Division 2 Representative
  • Bobby Frazer, National Division 3 Representative

Co-opted members of the Council

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners