1872 Saturday Teams

1872 Saturday Teams

​Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Danny Wilson has named a squad containing 16 Scotland internationals for tomorrow’s 1872 Cup decider against Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield, with 13 of them selected in the starting XV.

The inter-city derby series is tied 1-1 and will be decided on Saturday evening, with the two sides returning to Guinness PRO14 action for the first time since February.

Scotland hooker Fraser Brown will lead Glasgow Warriors out at BT Murrayfield after being named as one of the squad’s co-captains earlier this week.

Oli Kebble and Scotland tighthead Zander Fagerson will pack down on either side of Brown in the front row.

An all-Scotland pairing of Scott Cummings and Richie Gray forms a second-row partnership, the latter in line to make his first Glasgow Warriors appearance since 2012 after re-joining the club earlier this summer.

Matt Fagerson starts at openside flanker for the first time this season, with vastly-experienced duo Rob Harley and Ryan Wilson completing the back-row.

The backline sees Scotland half-backs Ali Price and Adam Hastings link up, while Pete Horne and Nick Grigg are paired together in the centres, with both men retaining their places in the starting XV from the club’s last outing back in February.

A try-scorer in Glasgow’s last fixture at BT Murrayfield, Huw Jones starts at full-back for the first time since joining the club in 2017, as Tommy Seymour and Ratu Tagive are selected to start on the wings.

Meanwhile, summer signing Andrew Davidson makes his Edinburgh Rugby debut against his former team, with the lock one of two debutants named in the matchday 23, along with former Scotland U20 stand-off Nathan Chamberlain who is selected among the replacements.

Scotland hooker Stuart McInally skippers an Edinburgh line-up that includes nine Scotland internationals, with seven of them named in the starting team.

Richard Cockerill’s side need just a point to secure a Guinness PRO14 Semi-Final berth, but will be looking to claim inter-city bragging rights and lift the 1872 Cup for the third straight season.

Blair Kinghorn is named at fullback with Eroni Sau and Duhan van der Merwe – who leads the league in clean breaks, defenders beaten and metres gained – selected on opposite wings.

Scotland international centre Mark Bennett links up with Chris Dean in midfield, while vice-captain and scrum-half, Nic Groom, is paired with stand-off Jaco van der Walt at half-back.

An-all Scotland front-row sees captain McInally pack down alongside prop duo Rory Sutherland and WP Nel.

Debutant Davidson is joined in the second-row by 42-times capped Scotland lock, Grant Gilchrist.

Fijian international Viliame Mata is named at No.8 with Luke Crosbie and Hamish Watson selected at blindside and openside flanker respectively.

Watch on Premier Sports

Saturday’s match between Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield will be shown live and exclusively on Premier Sports (kick-off 5.15pm).

The Guinness PRO14 rugby returns this weekend and Premier Sports is celebrating with a special offer for rugby supporters to watch every game live for the remainder of this season and next - for just 50p a game.

Premier Sports has teamed up with Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh to create a unique new £80 Premier Sports annual offer for new customers to watch this season and next. Each new rugby supporter signing up via this special offer on Sky and the Premier Player will earn £10 for their favourite team from Premier Sports as a contribution to clubs during difficult times. Check out glasgowwarriors.org or edinburghrugby.org for more information.

Premier Sports is the home of Guinness PRO14 and as games take place behind closed doors will be the only place for rugby fans to watch a dozen dazzling derby games and the Final Series live as the 2019/20 season concludes.

Bringing supporters every second of live PRO14 action in the comfort of their own homes over the next two weeks with will be a star-studded team with rugby talent Shane Williams, Stephen Ferris, Jim Hamilton, Sean Holley, Andrew Trimble, Chris Patterson, Tom Shanklin, Philippa Tuttiett, Alastair Kellock, Bernard Jackman, Rory Lawson and Matthew Rees hosted by presenters Ross Harries, Dougie Vipond and Graham Little plus reporters Emma Doods, Lauren Jenkins, Paul Marshall, Owain Gwynedd and Jenny Drummond and commentators Eddie Butler, Mark Robson, Rory Hamilton, Wyn Gruffydd, Ryle Nugent and Rhys Ap Williams.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo