FOSROC Super6 fifth/sixth final

FOSROC Super6 fifth/sixth final

Hosts Heriot’s Rugby opened the scoring in the tenth minute with some slick handling from full back Ross Jones who found winger Callum Young. He passed back inside to Jones who passed out to James Couper, he turned on the gas and moved up-field and passed inside to Rory McMichael who had to work hard to gather the ball and go in for the frist try of the afternoon.

Towards the half-hour mark of the game Boroughmuir shifted their attack up a gear. On the 22metre line, scrum-half Kaleem Barreto snipped round the corner of the break down and weaved his way past the Heriot’s defenders to open the scoring for the visitors. Stand-off Martin Cimprich added the conversion with ease.

Boroughmuir Bears got on the scoreboard only four minutes later when Barreto touched down again. Young centre Duncan Munn made a line break by skipping out of a double tackle, he passed inside to Barreto who cantered in for his second of the afternoon.

HALF TIME: Heriot’s Rugby 5 – 14 Boroughmuir Bears

It took nearly twenty minutes for a score to come in the second half, but when Heriot’s captain Iain Wilson fought his way over from a line out move the hosts closed their deficit to only four points to make it 10-14.

With fifteen minutes left on the clock the Bears mounted an attack which resulted in Scotland U20 prop Tom Banatvala powering over from short range to extend their lead.

Although Heriot’s tried a few times to get over the line, none were successful until they produced some nice play out the backs for full-back Ross Jones to score a consolation try.

FULL-TIME: Heriot’s Rugby 15 – 21 Boroughmuir Bears

Heriot's Iain Wilson on the attack 

FOSROC Player of the Match: Kaleem Barreto (Boroughmuir Bears)

Ref; David Sutherland, Assistant referees; Ian Kenny and Bob Nevins

Heriot’s Rugby: TRY Iain Wilson, Ross Jones, Rory McMichael
Boroughmuir Bears: TRY Tom Banatvala, Kaleem Barreto (2) CON Martin Cimprich

Heriot’s Rugby: 15. Ross Jones 14. James Couper 13. Rory McMichael 12. Robert Kay 11. Callum Young 10. Bruce Houston 9. Alex Ball 1. Michael Jones 2. Michael Liness 3. Dan Gamble 4. Ronan Seydak 25. Fraser Hastie 6. Ruairidh Leishman 7. Iain Wilson CAPTAIN 8. Jason Hill
Replacements: 16. Cameron Fenton 17. Chris Keen 18. Josh Scott 19. Callum Marshall 20. Jack McClean 21. Lloyd Wheeldon 22. Stuart Edwards 23. Robbie Chalmers

Boroughmuir Bears: 15. Tom Brown 14. Callum Ramm 13. Duncan Munn 12. Robbie McCallum 11. Jordan Edmunds 10. Martin Cimprich 9. Kaleem Barreto 1. Cole Lamberton 2. Finlay Scott 3. Martin McGinley 4. Jack Fisher 5. Euan Ferrie 6. Mzwandile Mncube 7. Rhys Tatit 8. Craig Keddie (CO-CAPTAIN)
Replacements: 16.Craig McKenzie 17. Tom Banatvala 18. Jamie Drummond 19. Scott McGinley 20. Greg Cannie 21. Kyle McGhie 22. Ronan Kerr 23. Trystan Andrews

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo