FOSROC Super6 Round 7: Preview

FOSROC Super6 Round 7: Preview

The 2021 FOSROC Super hits the home straight this weekend. ​This evening Southern Knights host Watsonians in a top of the table clash under Friday night lights at The Greenyards​. On Saturday Boroughmuir Bears travel to Stirling County before the weekend’s action concludes on Sunday at Godencare as Heriot’s Rugby host Ayrshire Bulls – live on FreeSports.

Sunday 19 September: Heriot's Rugby v Ayrshire Bulls 

Ayrshire Bulls make the trip to Edinburgh this afternoon to face Heriot's Rugby who will be looking to make up for their performance agains the Bulls last time out.

The game is live on FreeSports from 1pm with commentary from Jamie Lyall and Jamie Ritchie.

Match Officials
Ref: David Sutherland
AR1: Ross Mabon
AR2: Ruairidh Campbell
No4: David Changleng
Time: Andy Summers

Previous Encounters
Sunday 10 November 2019
Ayrshire Bulls 13-25 Heriot’s Rugby
Sunday 1 March 2020
Heriot’s Rugby 26-15 Ayrshire Bulls
Saturday 28 August 2021
Ayrshire Bulls 41-7 Heriot's Rugby

Heriot's Rugby Head Coach Andrew Kelly said: "We have had good wins before and not been able to back them up. This week is a huge challenge to do exactly that. The bulls are on a high and this will be a very tough encounter.

"We have gone with mainly the same team that got the win last week. We are looking for consistency from this group of players."

Ayrshire Bulls Head Coach Pat MacArthur said: "We will need to be on our game this week against a Heriots team that will be buoyant after their victory against then league leaders Watsonians. They are a team that is good at putting width on the ball but also have a pack that can keep it tight if needed. Our players will be determined to maintain the level of performance we have shown over the last two games at home as we hit the road.

"This week we have gone for consistency with only two changes to the starting line up. Harry Warr and Michael Scott swap places with Jordan Lenac and Calvin Henderson from the Bench. On the bench Matt Minogue comes in for injured Christian Townsend and Aaron Tait returns from injured to replace Tom Lanni."

Heriot’s Rugby: 15. Ross Jones, 14. Rory McMichael, 13. Robert Kay, 12. Stuart Edwards, 11. Callum Young, 10. Bruce Houston, 9. Alex Ball; 1. Andrew Nimmo, 2. Cameron Fenton, 3. Josh Scott. 4. Ruairidh Leishman, 5. Fraser Hastie, 6. Iain Wilson CAPTAIN, 7. Jack McClean, 8. Jason Hill.Replacements: 16. Michael Liness, 17. Michael Jones*, 18. Chris Keen, 19. Ronan Seydak, 20. Callum Marshall, 21. Jed Gelderbloom, 22. Lewis Govenlock, 23. James Couper

Ayrshire Bulls: 15. Matt Davidson, 14. Elias Caven, 13. Robert Beattie, 12. Tom Williams, 11. Robbie Nairn (19), 10. Tom Jordan, 9. Harry Warr; 1. George Thornton, 2. Alex McGuire, 3. Michael Scott, 4. Edward Bloodworth, 5. Tom Everard, 6. Ryan Sweeney, 7. Yaree Fantini, 8. Blair MacPherson CAPTAIN.Replacements: 16. Jamie Drummond (25), 17. Ruairidh Sayce, 18. Calvin Henderson, 19. Ewan Hamilton Bulger (16), 20. Gavin Wilson, 21. Jordan Lenac, 22. Matt Minogue, 23. Aaron Tait

Saturday 18 September: Stirling County v Boroughmuir Bears

Fifth place Boroughmuir Bears travel to sixth place Stirling County for this afternoon’s fixture.

Stirling County are welcoming spectators to Bridgehaugh, tickets can be bought HERE.

For those who can’t make it highlights of the game will be available tomorrow morning with commentary from Stuart McFarlane.

Match Officials
Ref: Ian Kenny
AR1: Dunx McClement
AR2: Alistair Watt
No4: Brian McGuff
Time: Ben Evans

Previous Encounters
Friday 8 November 2019
Boroughmuir Bears 24-27 Stirling County
Sunday 1 March 2020
Southern Knights 36-24 Boroughmuir Bears
Sunday 29 August 2021
Boroughmuir Bears 23-17 Stirling County

Stirling County Head Coach Ben Cairns said: “Although it should add fuel to our collective fire this weekend, we’ve tried to erase the memory of last week’s performance as quickly as possible. It was a very poor performance, particularly in the second-half, against a side who were full of confidence and who taught us a lesson in the importance of physicality. We expect our group to front up this weekend.

“The Bears will see this as an opportunity to climb off the foot of the table and build some momentum into the final few fixtures. They’ve got some quality players who can hurt you if given time and space. We will need to play for the full 80 and be patient if we are to get the result we want and need.

“A few changes after a disappointing performance versus the Bulls. Caleb Korteweg starts at scrum-half and Grant Hughes shifts to centre with Craig Jardine missing out through injury. Cole Lamberton is released to us on permit from Watsonians once more and starts at looshead having impressed off the bench last time out. Josh King comes straight in to the starting lineup as a long term injury replacement for the very unfortunate Alasdair Mackie. In the back row, the fit again Dean Taylor-Menzies starts at No8 with George Arnott moving to number six and Callum Cruickshank to the bench. The bench is fully loaded with a huge amount of talent waiting to have a big impact on proceedings. This includes four Scotland U20 players, one of which is Rory Jackson who joins us as a permit player from the Ayrshire Bulls. We are thankful to both WFC and Ayrshire Bulls for their cooperation regarding permit players and look forward to providing Cole and Rory with some much-needed game time.”

Boroughmuir Bears Head Coach Graham Shiel said: “For many years we have craved a competition that challenges players and coaching teams, Super6 demands the very best performances to do it justice and to allow you to be competitive.

“We have a tough challenge ahead travelling to Bridgehaugh, which is always a tough place to go to as all teams have found so far this season. Bouroughmuir Bears need to be ready to do battle and put in a strong performance to compete. Round 6 didn’t quite go to plan for us, so it is important that we get back into our stride this week against Stirling County.

“Finlay Scott earns his first start of the season at Hooker along packing down with Ross Dubbar and Dan Winning. Euan Ferrie is available this week after a frustrating period on the side-lines. Rory Drummond starts at Blindside having worked back from an injury earlier in the campaign. The only change in the backs comes through Tom Brown’s unavailability and see’s Callum Ramm return from injury to start on the rught wing with Glen Faulds moving across to full-back.

“On the bench AP McWilliam returns to Boroughmuir as emergency cover courtesy of Currie Chieftans. Jack Fisher drops to the bench alongside Co-captain Craig Keddie and Scott McGinley returns from injury to complete the forward contingent.

Kyle McGhie joins Duncan Munn, who returns to the match day squad after being unavailable last week.”

Stirling County: 15. Craig Robertson, 14. Steven Hamilton, 13. Archie Russell, 12. Grant Hughes, 11. Tom Roche. 10. Andrew Goudie, 9. Caleb Korteweg; 1. Cole Lamberton*, 2. Reyner Kennedy - CAPTAIN, 3. Lewis Skinner, 4. James Pow, 5. Josh King, 6. George Arnott, 7. Connor Gordon, 8. Dean Taylor-Menzies

Replacements: 16. Angus Fraser, 17.l Billy Dineen, 18. George Breese, 19. Rory Jackson*, 20. Callum Cruickshank, 21. Euan Cunningham*, 22. Landon Hayes, 23. Ross McKnight*

Boroughmuir Bears: 15. Glen Faulds, 14. Callum Ramm, 13. Ronan Kerr, 12. Robbie McCallum*, 11. Jordan Edmunds, 10. Tom Pittman, 9. Kaleem Barreto; 1. Ross Dunbar, 2. Finlay Scott, 3. Dan Winning CO-CAPTAIN, 4. Euan Ferrie*, 5. Will Inglis, 6. Rory Drummond, 7. Rhys Tait*, 8. Trystan Andrews.
Replacements: 16. Craig McKenzie, 17. AP McWilliam, 18. Martin McGinley, 19. Jack Fisher, 20. Craig Keddie CO-CAPTAIN, 21. Duncan Munn, 22. Kyle McGhie, 23. Scott McGinley

Friday 17 September: Southern Knights v Watsonians Rugby 

Both Southern Knights and Watsonians Rugby have jostled for the top of the table position over the previous six rounds of competition and tonight will be no exception.

Crowds are welcome to attend The Greenyards for tonight’s game, with tickets available HERE.

For those who can’t make it to The Greenyards this evening tonight you can watch it live on BBC iPlayer and the BBC Sport Scotland channel with commentary from Hugh Dan McLeannan and Andrew Nagle.

Match officials:

Ref: Ben Blain
AR1 Michael Todd
AR2 Samual O’Neil
No4: Bob Nevins
Time: Alan Forrest

Previous encounters:
Saturday 9 November 2019
Southern Knights 13-14 Watsonians
Sunday 1 March 2020
Watsonians 28-26 Southern Knights
Friday 27 August 2021
Watsonians 32-21 Southern Knights

Southern Knights Head Coach Rob Chrystie said: “We welcome Watsonians to the Greenyards tonight for our live broadcast game on BBC iPlayer. Watsonians will be looking to put right some wrongs from last weekend’s fixture but have shown over the Super6 competition they are an extremely strong team that is hard to beat.

“Cammy Scott and Joe Jenkins come back into the backline to start at inside-centre and full-back respectively. In the pack James Head starts in the middle row, Alan Ferrie on the backrow and Shaun Gunn at loose head.”

Watsonians Rugby Head Coach Fergus Pringle said: “It’s always a tough challenge going down to the Greenyards and one we are excited about taking on this week. Our focus is on putting in an accurate and composed 80min performance. We’ll need to do that to get the result against a quality Knights team.

“Harrison Courtney, Angus Williams and Kwagga Van Niekerk return to the starting pack. Roan Frostwick gets his first start of the campaign at 9 and Lewis Berg returns from injury to partner Scott King in the midfield. Nathan Borel returns to our Super6 squad via a long-term injury replacement and straight into the match day squad on the bench.”

Southern Knights: 15. Joe Jenkins, 14. Patrick Anderson, 13. Nyle Godsmark CAPTAIN, 12. Cameron Scott*, 11. Sam Pecqueur, 10. Jason Baggott, 9. Murdo McAndrew; 1. Shaun Gunn, 2. Fraser Renwick, 3. Euan McLaren, 4. James Head, 5. Angus Runicman, 6. Harry Borthwick, 7. Alan Ferrie, 8. Iain Moody.
Replacements: 16. Russell Anderson, 17. Grant Shiells, 18. Calum Crookshanks, 19. Dalton Redpath, 20. Ruaridh Knott, 21. Cameron Jones, 22. Andrew Mitchell, 23. Iain Sim

Watsonians Rugby: 15. Jamie Forbes CAPTAIN, 14. Harvey Elms, 13. Lewis Berg, 12. Scott King, 11. Lomond Macpherson, 10. Marc Morrison, 9. Roan Frostwick; 1. Harrison Courtney, 2. Cal Davies, 3. Anugus Williams*, 4. Luis Ball, 5. Michael Badenhorst, 6. Kwagga Van Niekerk, 7. Karl Main, 8. Harry Fisher.
Replacements: 16. Ross Graham, 17. Sam Grahamslaw, 18. Nathan Borel, 19. Kieran Watt, 20. Campbell Wilson, 21. Reiss Cullen, 22. Dom Coetzer, 23. Angus Hoffie

*FOSROC Scottish Rugby


Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.

Sign-up

Principal Partners

BT
Macron
Peter Vardy logo