Scotland v France

Scotland kicked off the third round of the Under-20 Six Nations with a three-point lead thanks to a penalty achieved from their French counterparts failing to roll away. The kick at the goal was successfully made by full-back, Robin Mc Clintock.

The French followed suit soon after, with number ten, Dayral, achieving a penalty kick making them level with Scotland in the first ten minutes of play.

And just moments later, France made their second kick of the night, again by Dayral, that pulled them ahead of Scotland, due to the hosts being offside.

After a long TMO review, Scotland made their first change of the game, Ben Evans went on for Robin Mc Clintock, due to an inspection for head injury after his French opponent number 14, Joseph, made a high tackle resulting in a red card.

The ever-determined French team powered up the pitch to score their first try of the night from Capilla, that followed with no conversion.

Robin Mc Clintock made a return to the pitch after a green light from his HIA.

Both teams were out to make an action-packed performance for the soaring fans, as a series of phases passed with possession altering between the teams, however, the French conceded another penalty kick that put them in a 11-3 lead.

A well-placed kick from outside-centre, Andy Stirrat, allowed the Scotland team to make their way towards the French try line. Unfortunately, France’s backrow inverted and flew the ball back down the pitch, for France’s Dayral to end on Scotland’s try line, and followed with his conversion.

Minutes before the half-time whistle, Scotland made their second change of the night, as Ali Rogers replaced tighthead, Mikey Jones, for head injury assessment.

Half time: Scotland 3 – 18 France

Scotland made a few changes to their pack, as Tim Brown came on for Captain, Rhys Tait, Calum Norrie replaced tighthead Gregor Scougall, and Ben Evans was back in the game again, but this time for Ollie Melville.

France scored on the 43rd minute of play from number 12, Gailleton. No conversion to follow, so the score was 3 – 23 to France.

Another change for Scotland, as Gregor Hiddleston replaced hooker, Patrick Harrison at 51 minutes.

Multiple line outs occurred where Kenny’s men gained possession each time.

Scotland gained territory in the scum on the half-way, that allowed Mc Clintock to place a kick just outside of the French whitewash. Several minutes of play occurred that finally saw Scotland make their first try of the night, on the 59th minute of play, made by Callum Norrie and followed with an easy conversion from McClintock.

The relentless game continued, as a scrum played just under 10 metres away from Scotland’s try-line ended in France’s hooker, SA, scoring a try, that was quickly converted by number 10, Dayral.

In the final ten minutes, the TMO was called on again, as France played some judo on outside centre, Andy Stirrat, that ended in another red card shown to the French side.

Scotland continued to make changes in their back line, this time Jonty Cope came on for Murray Redpath at scrum-half, Thomas Glendinning replaced Duncan Munn, and Matt Deehan came off for Rudi Brown to make his first cap for Scotland.

Christian Townsend showed his accuracy by passing off to Stirrat who proved his pace. That pushed Scotland further up the pitch, in a hope for a better chance to gain some points.

With only a few minutes left of play Scotland remained within the French 22. After a period of sustained energy from the Scots, Josh Taylor crossed the line to get Scotland their second try of the night. Robin Mc Clintock was at hand to add the extra points on the kick.

Scotland fought hard until the final whistle, but it was France that came out on top to secure the bonus point win.

Full Time: Scotland 17 – 30 France

Referee: Clara Munarini AR1: Sara Cox AR2: Maria Giovanna Pacifico No.4: Bob Nevins No.5: Fergus Hollins TMO: Claire Hodnett

Player of the Match: Theo Ntamack

Attendance: 3030

Scotland: 15. Robin McClintock; 14. Ross McKnight; 13. Duncan Munn; 12. Andy Stirrat; 11. Ollie Melville; 10. Christian Townsend; 9. Murray Redpath; 1. Michael Jones; 2. Patrick Harrison; 3. Gregor Scougall; 4. Josh Taylor; 5. Max Williamson; 6. Mathew Deehan; 7. Rhys Tait CAPTAIN; 8. Ollie Leatherbarrow

Replacements: 16. Gregor Hiddleston; 17. Ali Rogers; 18. Callum Norrie; 19. Rudi Brown; 20. Tim Brown; 21. Jonty Cope; 22. Thomas Glendinning; 23. Ben Evans

France: 15. Axel Bevia; 14. Jefferson Joseph; 13. Emilien Gailleton; 12. Louis Le Brun; 11. Enzo Reybier; 10. Emile Dayral; 9. Baptiste Jauneau; 1. Matis Perchaud; 2. Connor SA; 3. Robin Bellemand; 4. Samuel M’Foudi; 5. Hugo Auradou; 6. Leo Banos; 7. Esteban Capilla; 8. Theo Ntamack

Replacements: 16. Mamoudou Meite; 17. Thomas Moukoro; 18. Thomas Cretu; 19. Louis Descoux; 20. Noe Della Schiava; 21. Jules Coulon; 22. Simon Tarel; 23. Ethan Randle

live commentary 8:00 PM Friday 25 Feb 2022

{{ comment.matchTime }}

{{ comment.title }}

{{ comment.title }}

Kick-off 8:00 PM

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo