John Foster Honoured At Scottish Rugby Awards

John Foster Honoured At Scottish Rugby Awards

The club ties that bind were celebrated at the home of Scottish Rugby this evening with the second annual Scottish Rugby Club Awards dinner. The President's Suite at Murrayfield Stadium played host to the glittering event, hosted by former Scotland captain and British Lions prop, Ian McLauchlan and presented by former Scotland scrum-half Andy Nicol. Last year, for the first time, trophy attention was focused completely on recognising and rewarding member clubs and the role they play in ensuring the game of rugby in Scotland goes from strength to strength. This second event was a great success and a true celebration of the camaraderie and commitment of the grassroots game, epitomised by the Spirit of Rugby award to the man who was at the helm of one of Scotland's great rugby nurseries, Dollar Academy, for many years, John Foster.  Scottish Rugby President Ian McLauchlan said: "Players, coaches, officials and volunteers at all levels and in all parts of the country are the people who keep our game going, who encourage the next generation to pick up the ball and support those youngsters as they develop their skills along whichever rugby path they choose. "We need their enthusiasm, their experience, their talent and their continued commitment to ensure that as many people as possible get as much pleasure our of this glorious as game as we have all enjoyed."Tonight was a mark of the achievements of our clubs, their successes and to recognise the individuals who have excelled throughout the season in both the men's and the women's game."Club of the Season (men) - Melrose (selected from Peebles, Birkmyre, Highland, Preston Lodge, Ayr, Lasswade and Melrose)Adding another trophy to the cabinet tonight, the Greenyards club have already been crowned champions of Premier One, won the final of their own sevens tournament en route to lifting the Kings of the Sevens Series title and were crowned champions of the Border League during the last few weeks of the season.Melrose RFC is an integral part of the town and the wider community particularly through the reputation of its sevens tournament, amplified this year by the weather, the TV coverage, the crowd and most of all, the result.Club of the Season (women) - Hillhead / Jordanhill(selected from Watsonians, Hillhead / Jordanhill)As 2010/11 Premier 1 champions and Sarah Beaney Cup runners-up, Hillhead / Jordanhill's 1st XV performance alone affirms their award. Good links with Strathclyde University and Hyndland High School mean that a steady stream of young women can be introduced to a new, enthusiastic training environment with an ambitious young squad which has posted three newly capped Scotland internationalists and another three in the under-20 squad.Spirit of Rugby Award - John Foster, DollarFrom playing during this schooldays at Dunfermline HS and Gala RFC, to coaching the team at his former seat of learning, John continued to coach Midlands Schools and Scottish Schools. He joined the staff at Dollar Academy in 1983 where he coached every age group, winning the Schools Cup on three consecutive occasions from 2003 to 2005. A volunteer on the Midlands and Scottish Schools committees and the Scottish Age Grade Council, he has been at the forefront of school rugby development for the last three decades.Try of the season - Jamie Sole, Edinburgh AcciesPremier One Player of the Season - Rory McKay, Glasgow HawksPremier Two Player of the Season - Darren Gillespie, Jed ForestPremier Three Player of the Season - Stephen Findlay, DalzielNational One Player of the Season - Matt Gray, Greenock Wanderers National Two Player of the Season - Lee Armstrong, Hawick YMNational Three Player of the Season - Michael Borthwick, GHKEast Regional PS - John Grant, LismoreCaledonia Regional PS - Christopher Mann, GlenrothesWest Regional PS - Manus Flyn, Loch LomondWomen's Premier 1 Player of the Season - Kirstin Daly, Dundee UniversityWomen's Premier 2 Player of the Season - Hannah Rorrison, MelroseWomen's National League Player of the Season - Maggie Smith, BroughtonCoach of the season - Dave Cockburn, LasswadeReferee of the year - Neil Paterson, Dundee HSFP

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners