45 players invited to attend Scotland under-16 national trial

45 players invited to attend Scotland under-16 national trial

Some 45 players have been invited to attend a trial for the Scotland under-16 development squad, which will be selected later this month.The trial will take place at Lochinch in Glasgow on Sunday 16 March.The players were selected following the recent fixtures involving Glasgow, Caledonia, Borders and Edinburgh, after being spotted by national selectors from school and club games.The trial at Lochinch will consist of a training and skills session in the morning and a full game in the afternoon, to select a final 26-man squad.Two training camps will then be held in Fife later this month, along with a training game against Newcastle Falcons under-16s, ahead of a series of games at the Wellington Festival in April.The squad will be coached by Gary Mercer, Roddy Deans, Jamie Dempsey and Dave Butcher.Scotland under-16 head coach Gary Mercer said: "We've invited a group of players to attend the trial on Sunday, which is the next part of the process to finalise the 26-man squad for the Wellington Festival next month."These players have all put their hands up for selection following the recent pro-alignment fixtures and we're really excited about the potential within the group."Players invited to attend Scotland under-16 national trial:Graham Allan (St Columba's School), Hamish Bain (Portobello High School), Paul Cairncross (East Kilbride / Calderglen High School), Kenneth Drummond (George Watson's College), Ross Dunbar (Linlithgow Academy / Linlithgow RFC), Matthew Fagerson (Dundee Eagles / Strathallan School), Ewan Fox (Dundee Eagles / High School of Dundee), Keir Hail-Brown (Stirling County RFC / McLaren High School), Gregor Haldane (Stirling County / Dollar Academy), Andrew Horne (Preston Lodge RFC / Preston Lodge High School), Charlie Lonergan (GHA / St Aloysius College), Michael Manning (Ayr RFC), Ross McCann (Royal HIgh Cougars / Royal High School), Gary Munro (Jed Thistle RFC / Jedburgh Grammar School), Mark New (Mackie RFC / Mackie Acadmey) Matthew Northcote (Ardrossan Academicals / St Matthew's Academy), Gregor Paxton (Kilmarnock RFC / Grange Academy), Charlie Shiel (Royal High Cougars / Royal High School), Bruce Sorbie (Robert Gordons College / Robert Gordons College), Aaron Tait (Ayr RFC / Wellington School), Kyle Wood (Marr RFC / Marr College), Sam Yawayawa (Boroughmuir RFC / Firhill High School), Finlay Richardson (Merchiston Castle School), Callum Eastwood (George Watson's College), Lachlan Menzies (Perthshire Rugby Club / Breadalbane Academy), Campbell Duns (North Berwick RFC / Edinburgh Academy), Rehan Baig (Dundee Eagles / High School of Dundee), Lloyd Clark (Moffat RFC / Austin Friars), Cammy Hutchison (North Berwick RFC / North Berwick High School), Robbie Yourston (Jed Thistle RFC / Jedburgh Grammar School), Thomas Klein (Melrose / Earlston High School), Ben Appleson (Edinburgh Academy), Callum Braid (Moffat / Langholm U16 / Moffat Academy), Ewan Malloch (George Watson's College), George Blackwell (Kirkham Grammar School / Kirkham Grammar School), Jamie Ross (Marbella RFC / Bayside Comprehensive School), Ralph Johnston (Wigton RUFC / Nelson Tomlinson School), Alan Gregory (Cambridge RUFC / Kings, Ely), Hugh Buchanan (Ampleforth College / Ampleforth College), George Bordill (Sandbach RUFC / Sandbach School), Ben Scoular (Old Leamingtonians RFC / Warwick School), Harry Warr (Bowdon Rugby Club / Tarporley High School), Euan Ogilvie Kelly (Lincoln RFC / The Priory Academy LSST), Finlay Sharp (Painswick RFC / Rednock School), Liam Cook (Redingensians RFC / London Wasps Academy / Bradfield College)

Spread the word

Newsletter signup

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.

sign up

Principal Partners