Forrest welcomes smart start for sevens

Forrest welcomes smart start for sevens

A 20-woman squad gathers at BT Murrayfield this weekend for the first training day of the 2014/15 Scotland Women 7s season.This will be the fourth season for the squad, as they look forward to returning to the top level of European competition, after success last June at the FIRA-AER tournament in Bergen.Head coach Scott Forrest said: There are some familiar names in the squad - girls who were involved last season and two years ago - along with quite a few new names.This is the fourth season I've coached the side and the first time we've had training with the girls prior to Christmas. In the past we've come together for a matter of weeks before the tournaments in June.This will be huge benefit to me and the squad as we can develop the team and work through programmes."Following this Saturday's (25 October) training day, players will then convene on Wednesdays for skills sessions, leading up to the first main training camp in December.Forrest said: We had some success last season, getting promoted into the top division. Last time we were there it was challenging and we're under no illusions it'll be just as tough this season.Our short-term aim must be to stay in the top division so we don't want to be one of the bottom two teams again. Looking at the competition in this Grand Prix division - England, Ireland and Holland are among a number of teams with full-time women's sevens programmes - this is a great opportunity and a challenge for all of us."Scotland Women 7s training squad 2014/151. Eilidh Sinclair    Murrayfield Wanderers 2. Caitlin Harvey    Caithness3. Claire Bain     RHC Cougars 4. Deborah McCormack    Richmond [pictured]5. Emma Wassell    Murrayfield Wanderers6. Gillian Inglis    Melrose7. Hattie Cumber    Murrayfield Wanderers8. Jenny Maxwell    Leeds Beckett University/Lichfield 9. Jude Telford    Murrayfield Wanderers10. Laura Steven    Murrayfield Wanderers11. Lindsay Wheeler    Saracens12. Lindsey Smith    Hillhead Jordanhill13. Lisa Martin     Murrayfield Wanderers14. Mhairi Grieve    RHC Cougars 15. Rachael Cook     Murrayfield Wanderers16. Sarah Dixon     Stirling 17. Sarah Gill     Murrayfield Wanderers 18. Sarah Law    Murrayfield Wanderers 19. Steph Johnston    Worcester20. Tess Forsberg    Richmond

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo