Scotland under-16 trial squad announced

Scotland under-16 trial squad announced

The Scotland under-16 national trial squad has been named for a training day which will take place this Sunday (8 March) at Lochinch in Glasgow. The 46 players were selected following the recent regional fixtures involving Glasgow, Caledonia, Borders and Edinburgh, after being spotted by national selectors from school and club games.The trial at Lochinch will consist of a training and skills session in the morning and a training game in the afternoon, from which a final 26-man squad for a future training camp and the Wellington Festival will be selected. As a warm-up to the festival, the side led by the new coaching team of Roddy Deans, Steve Lawrie and Davy Wilson, will take on Newcastle at BT Murrafield on Sunday 22 March. In April, Scotland will then take on England North, Wales Celts and England South West at the Wellington Festival. Head coach, Roddy Deans said: This is a big challenge and test for our young players.They have the chance to take on top quality opposition in the forthcoming months and the training day this weekend is the first stage of our preparation.As a coaching group we are really looking forward to moulding and developing our young players over three training camps and one warm-up match against Newcastle, in order to perform against England and Wales at the Wellington Festival. We have a talented group of players who I am excited to see link up and I'm looking forward to coaching them for the first time.Forwards: Adam Kerr (Glasgow East/Hutcheson's Grammar School), Andrew O'Neill (Glenalmond College), Andrew Simpson (Currie RFC), Callum Cruickshank (Stirling County RFC/Dollar Academy), Cameron Blakemore (Stirling County RFC/Dollar Academy), Connor Clark (Stirling County RFC), Finlay Richardson (Merchiston Castle School), Finlay Darrah (Dunbar Grammar), Finlay Scott (Jedburgh Grammar School/Jed Thistle RFC), Gary Clarkson (Jedburgh Grammar School/Jed Thistle RFC), Gregor Nelson (George Watson's College), Kieran Slingsby (Jedburgh Grammar School/Jed Thistle RFC), Michael Calder (George Watson's College), Paul Cairncross (East Kilbride RFC/Kelvinside Academy), Robbie Smith (Newton Stewart), Roderick Guiney (Peebles High School/Peebles RFC), Wallace Nelson (Stirling County RFC), Callum Bell (Glasgow Hawks RFC/The Glasgow Academy), Sean Gauld (Dundee Eagles/High School of Dundee), Martin Hughes (St. Aloysius' College), Andrew Christie (Old Bristolians RFC/Bristol Grammar School), Hugo Tasker (Harrogate RUFC/Harrogate Grammar School), Lachlan Peterson (Dollar Academy).Backs: Andrew Jardine (Biggar RFC), Calum Gaw (Ayr RFC), Cameron Symes (Currie RFC), Connor Lane (Stewart's Melville College), Edmund Abekhe (Fettes College), Grant Hughes (Dollar Academy), Jack Paterson (Fettes College), Josh Eagers (Currie RFC/Merchiston Castle School), Kaleem Barreto (Glenalmond College), Keir Walker (Garnock RFC), Logan Gordon-Wooley (Hawick High School), Matt Davidson (Ayr RFC/Wellington School), Murray Scott (George Watson's College, Ollie Brown (George Watson's College), Peter Steele (Biggar), Ross Thompson (Stewart's Melville College), Jack McCready (Glasgow Hawks RFC/The Glasgow Academy), Andrew McLean (Stirling County RFC), Ben McIlwraith (Stirling County RFC/Dollar Academy), Fraser Dingwall (Cambridge RUFC/Bedford School), Rory McMichael (Wellington College), Remi Norville (Reading Abbey RFC/Maiden Erlegh), Cameron Redpath (Kings School - Macclesfield).

Spread the word

Newsletter signup

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.

sign up

Principal Partners