Scotland under-16s open with win

Scotland under-16s open with win

Scotland under-16s have opened their 2015 BMW Wellington International Festival campaign with an impressive 27-19 win over England North.The young Scottish side led 17-7 at half-time, thanks to first half tries from Kaleem Barreto, Rory McMichael and Peter Steele, with Cameron Redpath kicking a conversion.Scotland stretched their lead early in the second half when Steele went over for his second try of the game.England North responded with a try of their own, but Scotland were not to be denied and sealed the win with Jack Paterson getting the Scots' fifth try of the game.Robbie Smith of Newton Stewart RFC was named man of the match.Scotland are back in action on Wednesday when they play Wales Celts at 2pm.Speaking to, Scotland under-16s head coach, Roddy Deans said: We're very happy to start the campaign with a win and it gives us something to build on.When they stuck to the systems they'd been working on in training they scored some nice triesWe know we have a big step up in the challenge ahead, but it's a really good start and building block.We'll now go away and look at our game in more depth and work on the areas which need developed, ahead of our next game against Wales Celts on Wednesday.Scotland U16 team: Clark, Smith, Richardson, Blakemore, Kerr, Hughes, Darrah, Cruickshank, Barreto, Redpath, Steele, Dingwall, McMichael, Abekhe, EagersSubs: Cairncross, Christie, Scott, Guiney, Gauld, O'Neill, McCready, Davidson, Paterson, Thompson, GawScotland under-16 National Squad to play at BMW Wellington Festival 2015: Forwards: Adam Kerr (Hutchesons' GS), Andrew O'Neill (Glenalmond College), Callum Cruickshank (Stirling County RFC/Dollar Academy), Cameron Blakemore (Stirling County RFC/Dollar Academy), Connor Clark (Stirling County RFC), Finlay Richardson (Merchiston Castle School), Finlay Darrah (Dunbar Grammar School/Dunbar RFC), Finlay Scott (Jedburgh GS/Jed Thistle RFC), Paul Cairncross (East Kilbride RFC/Kelvinside Academy), Robbie Smith (Newton Stewart RFC), Roderick Guiney (Peebles High School/Peebles RFC), Sean Gauld (Dundee Eagles/High School of Dundee), Martin Hughes (St. Aloysius' College), Andrew Christie (Old Bristolians RFC/Bristol GS).   Backs: Calum Gaw (Ayr RFC), Edmund Abekhe (Fettes College), Jack Paterson (Fettes College), Josh Eagers (Merchiston Castle School/Currie RFC), Kaleem Barreto (Glenalmond College), Matt Davidson (Ayr RFC/Wellington School), Peter Steele (Biggar RFC), Ross Thompson (Stewart's Melville College), Jack McCready (Glasgow Hawks RFC/TheGlasgow Academy), Fraser Dingwall (Cambridge RUFC/Bedford School), Rory McMichael (Wellington College), Cameron Redpath (Kings School - Macclesfield).

Spread the word

Newsletter signup

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.

sign up

Principal Partners