Scotland Club XV named for England Counties clash

Scotland Club XV named for England Counties clash

Scotland Club XV and Heriot's head coach, Phil Smith, has announced his team to face England Counties at Netherdale on Friday 26 February (kick-off 7.30pm). The team includes many players from club sides who have dominated the BT Premiership this season with Ayr's Ross Curle named as captain in the centre.Smith has awarded new caps in both the backs and forwards, including Hawick's Lee Armstrong and Glasgow Hawks' Paddy Boyer forming the out-half partnership.The in-form forwards from Hawick, Melrose, Heriots and Ayr are selected up front as BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy player Ross Graham is named at hooker for the first time.The back-line is set to provide a variety of options with players called upon from Glasgow Hawks and Boroughmuir.Smith said: "We've named a side with many new faces but have retained some experience from last year's campaign, with Ross captaining the side and the likes of Jason Hill starting in the back-row.I have selected players who have been on genuine form in the BT Premiership this season and who are representing the Scottish club rugby game at the highest level."Hill, who has been named as vice-captain of the squad, will provide invaluable experience from Glasgow Warriors and Heriot's, and will take the blindside flank alongside Ayr's Will Bordill at open-side.Ayr debutant Peter McCallum will complete the back-row at number 8, with club teammate Robert McAlpine and Heriot's Jack Turley stepping out in the second-row for the first time.George Hunter and Nick Beavon of Ayr and Melrose respectively will start in the front-row alongside Graham.Melrose's Fraser Thomson will fill the 15 shirt with Boroughmuir's Jordan Edmunds and Sam Pecquer from Melrose providing pace on the wings.Curle forms the centre partnership with Brendan McGroarty from Glasgow Hawks to complete the back-line.The match against England Counties will be the first of two international games with Scotland Club XV travelling to Cork to face Ireland Club XV on Friday 18 March.Tickets cost£12 for adults, with FREE entry for under-18s.  Tickets for Senior Citizens (over 60) are also FREE when purchased in advance via (before midnight, Thursday 25 February), with a£5 entry charge payable on match day at Netherdale.  Scotland Season Pass holders and Supporters Club members can also enjoy FREE entry on production of their Season Pass. Club XV team to play England Counties at Netherdale, Galashiels, Friday 26 February, (kick-off 7.30pm) 15. Fraser Thomson (Melrose) 14. Sam Pecquer (Melrose)13. Ross Curle CAPTAIN (Ayr)12. Brendan McGroarty (Glasgow Hawks)11. Jordan Edmunds (Boroughmuir) 10. Lee Armstrong (Hawick)9. Paddy Boyer (Glasgow Hawks) 1. George Hunter (Ayr)2. Ross Graham** (Hawick)3. Nick Beavon (Melrose)4. Robert McAlpine (Ayr)5. Jack Turley (Heriot's)6. Jason Hill (Heriot's)7. Will Bordill (Ayr)8. Peter McCallum (Ayr) Replacements  16. Michael Liness (Heriot's)17. Struan Cessford (Heriot's)18. Jamie Bhatti (Melrose)19. Russell Nimmo (Heriot's)20. Neil Irvine-Hess (Melrose)21. Graham Wilson (Heriot's)22. Cameron Ferguson (Heriot's)23. Harvey Elms (Currie) ** BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 3 player 

Spread the word

Newsletter signup

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.

sign up

Principal Partners