Honours even for East and West age-grade sides

Honours even for East and West age-grade sides

The age-grade selects of East and West shared the celebratory spoils at Scotstoun yesterday in the opening encounter of the back-to-back games.It was the East U16 side who took the advantage in the opening game of the day, with tries from full-back Harry Paterson, wing Nathan Moffat, scrum-half Jamie Dobie and prop Dean Anderson (converted twice by stand-off Cameron Scott) contributing to the 24-point tally that saw them battle back from 12-5 down.Wing Colin Taylor crossed twice for the 'home' side, with scrum-half Finn McIlwraith converting both, meaning East U16 take a 12-point lead into the aggregate decider in Galashiels this Sunday (kick-off 12.30pm).The U18 encounter was not so close on the scoreboard, with West full-back Ben McIlwraith (2), centre James McCaig, and replacement back Jack McCready all crossing (twice converted by McIlwraith) with their line untroubled, leading to a comfortable 24-0 victory and healthy points' advantage going into Sunday's decider.The U16 and U18 trophies will be awarded after the second round of matches in Galashiels this Sunday (23 October), with the winners decided on the aggregate score.Oriam will then host the one-off match at U20 level on Sunday 27 November (kick-off 3.30pm TBC) - the first competitive rugby match on the indoor synthetic surface.All fixtures are free to attend however a limited number are available at Oriam. Tickets will be made available at Eventbrite next month.Fixtures / ResultsWest U16 (12-24) East U16West U18 (24-0) East U18Sunday 23 October at 4G Pitch, NetherdaleEast U16 v West U16 (kick-off 12.30pm)East U18 v West U18 (kick-off 2.15pm)Sunday 27 November at Oriam, EdinburghEast U20 v West U20 (kick-off 3.30pm TBC) WEST U16 (12-24) EAST U16WEST U16: 15. George Gourley (Glasgow Academy/Glasgow Hawks); 14. Colin Taylor (Glasgow Academy/Glasgow Hawks), 13. Keir Singleton (Balfron High School/Strathendrick), 12. Andrew Hughes (St Aloysius' College/GHA), 11. Mungo Somerville (Waid Academy); 10. Joesph Strain (Castle Douglas High School/Stewartry), 9. Finn McIlwraith (Stirling County); 1. Dean Hunter (Strathaven Academy/Strathhaven) 2. Greg Clunas (Howe of Fife), 3. Thomas Ryan (Robert Gordons College), 4. Luca Alessandri (Kings Park Secondary/Cartha Queens Park), 5. Matthew Fletcher (St Andrews & St Brides High School/East Kilbride), 6. Finlay Lennox (Robert Gordons College), 7. Jamie Cruickshank (Stirling County), 8. Jamie Brennan (Glasgow Academy/Glasgow Hawks). Substitutes: 16. Scott Clelland (Prestwick Academy/Ayr), 17. Callum Brown (Gryffe High School), 18. Jamie Drummond (Auchenleck Academy/Cumnock), 19. Rory Jackson (Park Mains School/Bishopton), 20. Liam Dreelan (Lathallan School / Mackie FP), 21. Sandy Greig (High School of Glasgow/Glasgow Hawks), 22. Harry Mercer (St Leonards), 23. Brandon Mills (Glenwood High School/Glenrothes).EAST U16: 15. Harry Paterson (Fettes College); 14. Scott Clark (Preston Lodge HS/RFC), 13. Mathew Currie (Merchiston Castle School), 12. Scott King (Preston Lodge HS/RFC), 11. Nathan Moffat (Stewart's Melville College); 10. Cameron Scott (Boroughmuir), 9. Jamie Dobie (Merchiston Castle School); 1. Jake Fairly (Earlston HS/Melrose), 2. Finlay Campbell (Jedburgh GS), 3. Dan Gamble (Merchiston Castle School/Kelso), 4. Andrew Hoggarth (Clifton Hall School), 5. Jonathon Roberts (George Watson's College), 6. William Harper (Merchiston Castle School), 7. Eck Allen (North Berwick HS), 8. Lewis Herd (Stewart's Melville College). Substitutes: 16. Michael Baird (Currie), 17. Euan Bonthorn (Musselburgh GS/RFC), 18. James Hunter (Preston Lodge HS/RFC), 19. Struan Whittaker (BATs/Trinity Academy), 20. Aiden Harte (Stewart's Melville College), 21. Fergus Johnstone (Galashiels Academy/Gala), 22. Nathan Sweeny (Loretto School), 23. Dean Anderson (Merchiston Castle School).WEST U18 (24-0) EAST U18WEST U18: 15. Ben McIlwraith (Dollar Academy); 14. Ryan Fairweather (Perthshire), 13. Andrew McLean (Stirling County), 12. James McCaig (Strathallan), 11. Jordan Miller (Dundee High School); 10. Grant Hughes (Dollar Academy), 9. Gus Warr (Dollar Academy); 1. Andrew Nimmo (Biggar), 2. Angus Fraser (Dundee High School), 3. Dan York (St Aloysius), 4. Adam Kerr (GHA), 5. Callum Bell (Glasgow Academy), 6. Jack McLean (Glasgow Academy), 7. Wallace Nelson (Stirling County), 8. Callum McPherson (Highland). Substitutes: 16. Thomas Mullen (St Aloysius), 17. Murphy Walker (Strathallan School), 18. Guy Kelly (Biggar), 19. Cameron Henderson (Strathallan School), 20. Sean Guald (Dundee High School), 21. Aiden Reddick (Stirling County), 22. Jacob Henry (Ross Sutherland), 23. Jack McCready (Glasgow Academy).EAST U18: 15. Robbie McCallum (Loretto School/West of Scotland); 14. Cameron Symes (Stewart'S Melville College), 13. David Grant-Suttie (Loretto School), 12. Adam Hall (Earlston HS/Melrose), 11. Jack Blain (Stewart'S Melville College); 10. Ross Thompson (Stewart Melville College), 9. Roan Frostwick (North Berwick HS/North Berwick); 1. Thomas Jeffery (Borders College/Peebles RFC), 2. Finlay Scott (Borders College/Jed Thistle), 3. William Owen (Earlston/Melrose), 4. Thomas Brown (Borders College/Melrose), 5. Jack Mann (Edinburgh Academy), 6. Timon Van Rensburg (Loretto School), 7. Rory Darge (North Berwick HS/North Berwick), 8. Robbie Irvine (Gala Academy/Gala Wanderers). Substitutes: 16. Calum Renwick (Hawick HS/Hawick), 17. Cole Imrie (Trinity Academy), 18. Robert Stott (Musselburgh GS/Musselburgh), 19. Kyle Amos (Jed GS/Jed Thistle), 20. Callum Rowberry (Stewart's Melville College), 21. Scott Clarke (Selkirk HS/Selkirk YC), 22. Ian Stewart (Fettes College), 23. Finlay Smith (Stewart's Melville College).

Spread the word

Newsletter signup

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.

sign up

Principal Partners