Scotland Women team for World Cup Qualifier announced

Scotland Women team for World Cup Qualifier announced

Scotland Women Head Coach Shade Munro has named his team to face Spain at Scotstoun Stadium this Friday (18 November, kick-off 7.35pm) - live on BBC Alba. It is the first of two games to decide who will play in next year's Women's Rugby World Cup in Ireland with the second to be played eight days later on Saturday 26 November in Madrid.Lisa Martin will start at inside centre and captain the side, which includes a debutant in the starting XV and three on the bench.Hillhead Jordanhill's Louise McMillan is set to earn her first Scotland Women cap when she starts at flanker, while Murrayfield Wanderers prop Lucy Park and Lichfield team mates Sarah Bonar and Rachel Malcolm could also make their debuts off the bench.All four uncapped players gained international experience in last month's non-capped match against Wales in Cardiff. McMillan and Park are also among 11 BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy players selected to play Spain.Adding their experience to the group are props Heather Lockhart, on 82 caps, and Tracy Balmer, who has started 32 of her 36 caps to date. They are joined by Hillhead Jordanhill hooker Lana Skeldon.The second-row pairing of Emma Wassell and Deborah McCormack returns after starting in all five 2016 Women's Six Nations matches, with both set to play their 17th international Test.In the back-row, newcomer McMillan will have clubmate Jemma Forsyth on the opposite flank with RHC Cougars' Karen Dunbar stepping into number 8.Murrayfield Wanderers half-backs Sarah Law and Helen Nelson slot into scrum-half and stand-off respectively, while Lisa Thomson will start at outside centre alongside captain Martin.Rhona Lloyd and Megan Gaffney will add speed to the wings and Chloe Rollie complements the back three at full-back.Among the replacements are prop Lindsey Smith, who made her debut against Spain in 2011, and Edinburgh University's Katie Dougan who won two caps in 2015.Worcester back-row Lyndsay O'Donnell returns as a replacement after last playing in 2015, while backs Jenny Maxwell and Eilidh Sinclair are also on the bench.Scotland Women Head Coach Shade Munro said: "The players are really looking forward to getting out there and taking on Spain at Scotsoun.We are well aware of the challenge that Spain presents and how important these Women's Rugby World Cup Qualifiers are. We know Spain will be a much better side than they were a year ago when we played them and won but then again so are we."Our preparation has been going well as we look to build on progress made during this year's Six Nations and our competitive warm-up games."We've been looking at different combinations this season to add depth to our experienced pool of players. Competition for a place in the squad keeps pushing them all on and the chance to play in next year's Women's Rugby World Cup is another carrot."I'm excited to see what this group can achieve in front of a vocal home support at Scotstoun on Friday." Scotland Women team to play Spain Women at Scotstoun Stadium, GlasgowFriday 18 November (kick-off 7.35pm) - live on BBC Alba 15. Chloe Rollie* (Murrayfield Wanderers) - 10 caps 14. Megan Gaffney (Edinburgh University) - 18 caps13. Lisa Thomson* (Edinburgh University) - 5 caps12. Lisa Martin* CAPTAIN (Murrayfield Wanderers) - 30 caps11. Rhona Lloyd* (Edinburgh University) - 5 caps 10. Helen Nelson* (Murrayfield Wanderers) - 2 caps9. Sarah Law* (Murrayfield Wanderers/Edinburgh University) - 22 caps 1. Heather Lockhart (Hillhead Jordanhill) - 82 caps2.  Lana Skeldon (HillHead Jordanhill) -15 caps3.  Tracy Balmer (Worcester) - 36 caps4. Emma Wassell* (Murrayfield Wanderers) - 16 caps5. Deborah McCormack (Aylesford Bulls) - 16 caps6. Jemma Forsyth (Hillhead Jordanhill) - 15 caps7. Louise McMillan* (Hillhead Jordanhill) - uncapped8. Karen Dunbar* (RHC Cougars) - 14 caps Replacements 16. Lucy Park* (Murrayfield Wanderers) - uncapped17. Lindsey Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill) - 30 caps18. Katie Dougan (Edinburgh University) - 2 caps19. Sarah Bonar (Lichfield) - uncapped20. Rachel Malcolm (Lichfield) - uncapped21. Lyndsay O'Donnell (Worcester) - 10 caps22. Jenny Maxwell (Lichfield) - 8 caps23. Eilidh Sinclair* (Murrayfield Wanderers) - 11 caps * BT Sport Scottish Rugby Academy Stage 2 players 2016-17Not available due to injury: Jade Konkel, Mhairi Grieve, Siobhan McMillan Tickets for Scotland Women v Spain Women at Scotstoun Stadium are available now on - adults£5 & U18s free. 

Spread the word

Newsletter signup

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.

sign up

Principal Partners