Scotland Women 7s squad selected for Rugby Europe

Scotland Women 7s squad selected for Rugby Europe

Head Coach Scott Wight has named the Scotland Women 7s squad to compete in the first leg of the Rugby Europe Women's Sevens Trophy this weekend (10-11 June). Twelve players will travel to Ostrava, Czech Republic where they will face Moldova, Israel and Germany in pool C on day one.Among the group are three uncapped Scotland Women 7s players, Hillhead Jordanhill's Hannah Smith and Edinburgh University's Rhona Lloyd and Elizabeth Musgrove.Musgrove is the only non-capped Scotland Women player in the side having made the switch from athletics to rugby this season.Following their Scotland Women 7s debuts last season, Abi Evans, Louise McMillan, Lisa Thomson, Helen Nelson and Chloe Rollie retain their positions in the squad.Lisa Martin, Megan Gaffney and Lauren Harris bring experience to the youthful side having featured in the first Scotland Women 7s team when it was established in 2012.Jenny Maxwell, who made her Scotland Women 7s debut in 2013, also featured in the 2015 and 2016 Rugby Europe competitions.Head Coach Scott Wight said: "The commitment from the players has been top notch. This is a really competitive group so for me to select 12 it's been quite tough, but that's what you want as a coach.We've set high standards in the group and our aim is to finish in the top two overall and gain promotion to the Grand Prix.""Our regular training sessions at Oriam over the past two months have been beneficial and we made real progress at our week-long camp ahead of a warm-up tournament in London last weekend, where we made it to the final."The squad is really buzzing for Ostrava and I'm looking forward to seeing what they can do."Results will be posted on the Rugby Europe website and games will be live streamed on Rugby Europe TV. Scotland Women 7s squad to play in the Rugby Europe Sevens Women's Trophy in OstravaSaturday 10 June and Sunday 11 June 2017 Abi Evans (Hillhead Jordanhill)Megan Gaffney (Edinburgh University)Lauren Harris (Melrose)Rhona Lloyd* (Edinburgh University)Lisa Martin* (Murrayfield Wanderers)Jenny Maxwell (Lichfield)Louise McMillan* (Hillhead Jordanhill)Elizabeth Musgrove (Edinburgh University)Helen Nelson* (Murrayfield Wanderers)Chloe Rollie* (Murrayfield Wanderers)Hannah Smith (Hillhead Jordanhill)Lisa Thomson* (Edinburgh University) Scotland Women 7s fixtures in the first leg of the Rugby Europe Women's Sevens TrophyOstrava, Czech Republic | June 10-11 Saturday 10 June9.44am BST Scotland v Moldova12.29pm BST Scotland v Israel3.14pm BST Scotland v Germany  Saturday 11 JuneTBC

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo