28-man squad named for World Rugby U20 Championship

28-man squad named for World Rugby U20 Championship

Scotland U20 Head Coach Carl Hogg today named his squad for the forthcoming World Rugby U20 Championship held in Argentina (4-22 June).

The 28-man squad – which consists of 16 forwards and 12 backs – includes 15 players who are currently enrolled in the Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy, while only four players were not previously involved in the U20 Six Nations earlier this year.

Featuring in the squad for the first time are tighthead prop Mak Wilson (Melrose), back-row Tom Marshall (Newcastle Falcons) and wing Lomond McPherson (Watsonians), while Marshall Sykes (Ayr) – who was involved in last year’s U20 group – is included after missing out on the recent U20 Six Nations through injury.

Five members of the squad have previous World Rugby U20 Championship experience, with props Euan McLaren (Ayr) and Murphy Walker (Stirling County), second-row Ewan Johnson (Racing 92), back-row Sykes and stand-off Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks) all involved in last year’s tournament in France.

Scotland U20 Head Coach, Carl Hogg, said: "This year’s squad includes a good mix of youth and experience, with a large number of the group having performed together during the recent Six Nations campaign.

“The squad made huge strides over the course of the Six Nations and eventually adapted to the pace and intensity of international age-grade rugby.

"We were at our best when we played with real speed, but also made intelligent decisions with and without the ball. The highlight was clearly the performance against Wales at Meggetland, which provides us with a real template for success.

“Preparations are going really well and we have a short camp at St Andrews University before heading out to Washington for a warm-up game against Old Glory DC.”

“We know how tough a task we face in next month’s tournament. We have been being drawn in group with the rugby powerhouses of South Africa and New Zealand, as well as a really strong Georgian outfit.

“Each of these teams will present very different challenges, but we believe we have the game plan and players capable of adapting to find a winning way.”

The age-grade side will complete their preparations for the Championship in Argentina with a week-long training camp in Washington DC, which will include a warm-up Fixture against Old Glory DC on Memorial Day, 27 May.

The camp follows the announcement that Scottish Rugby has taken a minority stake in the MLR expansion side Old Glory DC, with the opportunity to focus U20 preparations State-side the first example of the relationship in action.

Scotland U20 begin their World Rugby U20 Championship campaign against South Africa U20 at Rosario’s Racecourse Stadium on Tuesday 4 June (kick-off 2.30pm BST) before facing New Zealand U20 at the same venue four days later (Saturday 8 June, kick-off 7.30pm BST).

The age-grade side then play Georgia U20 in their final pool stage fixture at Rosario’s Racecourse Stadium (Wednesday 12 June, kick-off 2.30pm BST) with all three group matches streamed live on world.rugby/u20

Scotland U20 pool fixtures in the 2019 World Rugby U20 Championship

Tuesday 4 June: South Africa U20 v Scotland U20; Racecourse Stadium, Rosario (kick-off 10.30am local, 2.30pm BST)
Saturday 8 June: New Zealand U20 v Scotland U20; Racecourse Stadium, Rosario (kick-off 3.30pm, 7.30pm BST)
Wednesday 12 June: Georgia U20 v Scotland U20; Racecourse Stadium, Rosario (kick-off 10.30am local, 2.30pm BST)

Scotland squad to compete in the 2019 World Rugby U20 Championship
Argentina (4-22 June)


Andrew Nimmo (Glasgow Hawks)*

Angus Fraser (Glasgow Hawks)*

Cristen Van Niekerk (Lions)

Cameron Henderson (Stirling County)*

Connor Boyle (Watsonians)*

Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks)

Euan McLaren (Ayr)*

Ewan Johnson (Racing 92)

Jack Mann (Edinburgh Accies)*

Mak Wilson (Melrose)*

Marshall Sykes (Ayr)*

Murphy Walker (Stirling County)*

Ross Bundy (Stirling County)

Teddy Leatherbarrow (Sale Sharks)

Tom Marshall (Newcastle Falcons)

Will Hurd (Cardiff Metropolitan University)


Cameron Anderson (Wasps)

Grant Hughes (Stirling County)*

Jack Blain (Heriot’s)*

Lomond McPherson (Watsonians)

Ollie Smith (Ayr)*

Matt Davidson (London Scottish)

Murray Scott (Watsonians)

Nathan Chamberlain (Bristol Bears)

Roan Frostwick (Currie Chieftains)*

Robbie McCallum (Complutense Cisneros)

Rory McMichael (Heriot’s)*

Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks)*

*Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy supported player

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners