Borders and East Lothian win Fosroc Super 4s

Borders and East Lothian win Fosroc Super 4s

The second year of Fosroc U19 Super 4s took place on Wednesday (14 November 2018) at Oriam where some of the stars of tomorrow produced a competitive day of rugby.

The tournament was contested by Caledonia, Edinburgh, Glasgow & The West and the Borders & East Lothian, with six fixtures taking place throughout the day.

The premise for the Super 4s is to provide the opportunity for home-based players to promote themselves in front of Scotland U19 and U20 Head Coaches in two 15-minute halves.

The format and laws are aligned to law adaptations to support Scottish Rugby’s Technical Blueprint, with the premise of increasing ball in play time, maintaining speed and intensity, develop independent decision making. It is also aimed at promoting playing under pressure and decision making.

Edinburgh ran in eight tries during their three games, recording two wins before being beaten by The Borders & West Lothian in their final match to dent their chances of winning the tournament.

he Borders & East Lothian only lost a solitary fixture, their first of the day against Glasgow & The West, but went on to claim two convincing wins over their other tournament opponents.

After an action-packed day of rugby, it came down to Caledonia against Glasgow & The West, with the West knowing that a bonus try win would ensure they topped the table.

However, Caledonia produced a stoic display to share the spoils with the scores tied 19-19 to give The Borders the tournament by a single point.


The Borders & East Lothian U19
Mully Bannerman (Heriot’s), Alex Clark (Preston Lodge), Vangjel Kacori (Ross High) Cameron Meager (Earlston HS/Melrose), Ronan McKean (Hawick), Bailey Donaldson (Hawick Youth), Kyle McGhie (Mussleburgh), Thomas Jeffrey (Jed Forrest), Kyle Scott (Preston Lodge), Mak Wilson (Melrose), Ethan Deakin (Duns), Andrew Sweenie (Kelso), Calum Henderson (Hawick Youth), Stuart Hunter (Peebles), Cameron Brown (Kelso), Ryan Toogood (Hawick Youth), Euan Bonthron (Mussleburgh HS), Jake Fairley (Melrose) Gordon Baptie (North Berwick HS), Jack Fisher (Preston Lodge), Simon Duke (Corstorphine), Lanyon Rowley (Edinburgh University/Melrose), Fergus Johnston (Gala), Clum Pate (Knox Academy/Haddington), Andrew Mitchell (Hawick)

Caledonia U19
Alexander Begg (Mackie), James Nixon (Stirling County), Kier Singleton (Stirling County), Craig Jardine (Stirling County), Angus Vipond (Stirling County), Mikey Heron (Balfron/Strathendrick), Adam Shaw (Stirling County), Lachlan McKay, Shaun Fisher (Falkirk), Mark Galloway (Ellon), Sturan Robertson (Kirckcaldy), Tom Morris (Aberdeen University), Lewis Collier (Falkirk), Adam Morrison (Gordonians) Stuart Lang (Stirling County), Craig Hamilton (Kirkcaldy), Rory Reid-Kay (Stirling County), Kieran Yeats (Aberdeen Wanderers), Tom Clark (Stirling County).

Edinburgh U19
Sam Evans (Stewarts Melville), Calum Campbell (Napier University), Finlay McCarville (Fettes College), Jack Doherty (Edinburgh University), Finlay Devine (Boroughmuir), Lachlan Kelly (Watsonians), Paddy Ritchie (Stewarts Melville), Finlay Miller (Trinity Accies), Ed Kelman (Stewarts Melville), Sandy Sweeney (Heriot Watt University), Kieran Watt (Watsonians), Gavin Inkster (Portobello High/Boroughmuir), Ben McLeod (Fettes College), Jamie Miller (Edinburgh Academicals), Grant Stevenson (Boroughmuir), Francis Fraser (Stewarts Melville), Franks Spiers (BATs/Broughton), Cole Lamberton (Royal High School) Gordon Brodie (North Berwick), George Hurst (Edinburgh University), Christopher Bell (Watsonians), Hamish McMillan (Fettes College), Steven Ketchen (Penicuik), Ellis Low (BATs/Trinity Academy), Corann Henderson (Watsonians)

Glasgow & The West U19

Robbie Orr (Biggar), Murray Godsman (Glasgow Hawks), Matthew Stewart (Biggar), Gavin McKirdy (GHK), Max Preistly (Glasgow Hawks), Joseph Strain (Dumfries Saints), Finlay Callaghan (GHK), Scott Bell (GHK), Adam Wolfson (Heriot’s), Allan Ferrie (Stewarty), Morgan Leatherbarrow (Ayr), Lewis Stewart (Biggar), Gavin Wilson (Glasgow Hawks), Connor Wilson (Napier University), Scott Briggs (Glasgow Academicals), Scott Clelland (Ayr) Callum Coats (Glasgow Hawks), Jordan Craig (Hamilton) Ali McFarlane (GHA), Ross Maiden (Ayr), Chris Easton (Ayr)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners