Club XV Training Squad Announced

Club XV Training Squad Announced

Scotland Club XV Head Coach Scott Wight has today announced his 35-man training squad ahead of two fixtures against their Irish counterparts.

Every Tennent’s Premiership club is represented in the group of 20 forwards and 15 backs, with four players returning to the squad from last year.

Shawn Muir (Hawick), Gary Strain (Glasgow Hawks), Gregor Hunter and Fergus Scott (both Currie Chieftains) retain their positions in the squad, which was defeated last year at Netherdale before earning a draw in Donnybrook, Dublin.

Tennent’s Premiership league leaders Marr are well represented in the squad with nine players selected, including brothers Scott and Conor Bickerstaff.

Edinburgh Accies players selected are stand-off Richard Mill and back-row Jamie Sole, son of former Scotland and British & Irish Lions prop David Sole.

The squad took part in a training session before Christmas and will have a series of opportunities to prepare before hosting Ireland at Netherdale on Friday 31 January and travelling away to play the return fixture in Donnybrook, Dublin on Friday 7 February.

“It was really hard to narrow the group down to the 35 players that were selected. There have been a number of players who have impressed throughout the Tennent’s Premiership this season, so there were some tough decisions to be made in key areas. Scott Wight

“We feel we have an excellent balance in the squad and that was evident in the first training session. The hard work starts now for everyone as we head into the first game against Ireland at Netherdale in a few weeks’ time.”

The squad will be looking to win back the Dalriada Cup from holders Ireland, with the winner decided by the aggregate score over the two matches.

Tickets are now available for Scotland Club XV v Ireland Club XV at Netherdale on Friday 31 January (kick-off 7.30pm) HERE, including the kids for £1 offer with a paying adult ticket (until midnight Thursday 30 January).



Calvin Henderson (Marr)

Craig Owenson (Musselburgh)

Ewan Bulger (Marr)

Ewan MacDougall (Selkirk)

Fergus Scott (Currie Chieftains)

Fraser Christie (Glasgow Hawks)

Gary Strain (Glasgow Hawks)

Graeme Carson (Currie Chieftains)

Gregor Law (Jed-Forest)

James Bett (Selkirk)

Jamie Sole (Edinburgh Accies)

Matty Carryer (Hawick)

Michael Vernel (Currie Chieftains)

Nat Coe (Aberdeen Grammar)

Ollie Rossi (Marr)

Rhys Davies (Currie Chieftains)

Robin Cessford (Aberdeen Grammar)

Shawn Muir (Hawick)

Wallace Nelson (Currie Chieftains)

William Farquhar (Marr)


Aaron McColm (Selkirk)

Andrew Mitchell (Hawick)

Calum Young (Jed-Forest)

Colin Sturgeon (Marr)

Conor Bickerstaff (Marr)

Scott Bickerstaff (Marr)

Grant Mollison (GHA)

Greg Montgomery (Marr)

Gregor Christie (Currie Chieftains)

Gregor Hunter (Currie Chieftains)

Jack Preston (Marr)

Patrick Boyer (Glasgow Hawks)

Richard Mill (Edinburgh Accies)

Ryan Cottrell (Selkirk)

Steven Hamilton (Currie Chieftains)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners