Scottish Rugby launches community recognition awards programme

Scottish Rugby launches community recognition awards programme

​Scottish Rugby has today (Friday 2 April) opened nominations for the annual domestic game awards, focusing on the off-field efforts of clubs and schools across all five regions of Scotland over the course of the last year.

In the 2019/20 season, the Scottish Rugby annual awards structure was revamped and renamed the ‘Rugby Development Awards’, however in-light of the domestic league coming to a halt as a result of the coronavirus pandemic, this year’s awards will follow a new one-off format, under the title ‘Community Recognition Awards’.

The new format includes six award categories, which will be awarded in each of the five regions – Caledonia Midlands, Caledonia North, East, Glasgow North and Glasgow South.

The award categories are:

Community Champion Award brought to you by SP Energy Networks, which recognises an individual who has made an exceptional contribution to their community.

Charity Fundraiser Award brought to you by Tennent’s will be presented to an individual or group of volunteers who have made a significant impact through fundraising.

Scottish Rugby Diversity & Inclusion Award, which credits a person or group working tirelessly to promote equality, diversity and inclusion or challenge prejudice and discrimination.

Inspiration Award brought to you by Tennent’s, recognising individuals and groups who have achieved extraordinary things through their efforts and determination.

Young Person’s Award brought to you by by Mitsubishi Motors , crediting the efforts of a young individual or group (aged 16-26 years old) who have made a positive contribution to their club, school or local community, or have inspired others through positive social action.

Lifetime Achievement Award brought to you by Tennent’s, which acknowledges a person or group whose lifetime of dedicated service has provide a significant contribution in support of their club and community.

The award winners will be announced in June following their presentation at a regional virtual ceremony.

Sheila Begbie MBE, Scottish Rugby’s Director of Rugby Development said: “I am delighted to open the nomination process for this year’s Community Recognition Awards. Our annual awards programme and celebrating the club game is always a big highlight for Scottish Rugby.

“The last 12 months of coronavirus restrictions have presented many challenges for the domestic game in Scotland, and yet clubs and schools have been amazing as ever and have achieved so much. That’s why we want to acknowledge the exceptional contributions individuals and groups from the grassroots game have made to their local communities, charities, clubs and schools during this time.

“The awards judging panel will no doubt have their work cut out for them! I’d like to wish the best of luck to all the award nominees, I look forward to sharing and celebrating the successes of our winners later in May.” Sheila Begbie MBE

The nomination process is now open for applications until 30 April.

All nominations received will be put forward to the Scottish Rugby Development Awards judging panel.

More information on how to apply, along with terms and conditions, can be found HERE.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners

Peter Vardy logo