Doyle names team for second Springbok Test

Doyle names team for second Springbok Test

​Scotland Women Head Coach Philip Doyle has named his starting team for the second Test match against South Africa on Saturday at City Park Ground, Athlone, Cape Town (kick-off 2pm BST – streamed live via

Doyle has made four changes to his starting team that beat South Africa 5-47 on Monday.

The front row trio will remain the same with Cockburn, Skeldon and Forsyth. Emma Wassell will be joined in the second row by Siobhan Cattigan who moves off the bench. Rachel Malcolm will start at blindside flanker with Louise McMillan moving from second row to openside. Jade Konkel will remain at number 8.

Jenny Maxwell will start at scrum-half in the second Test match against the South Africans with Sarah Law remaining at fly-half.

Rhona Lloyd remains on the wing with Lisa Thomson starting at inside centre.

Hannah Smith will continue at outside centre with Chloe Rollie at full-back and Abi Evans is moving onto the wing from the bench.

Doyle said on selection: “We had a fantastic match on Monday and I was delighted to see how the team played and how they executed the game plan.

“The match is going to be tougher this weekend as South Africa know what to expect from us and will be wanting to ensure a home win. We have been preparing hard at training this week and I am excited to see what the team will deliver on Saturday.”

Scotland Women team to face South Africa on Saturday at City Park Ground, Athlone, Cape Town
(kick-off 2pm BST – streamed live via

15. Chloe Rollie (Harlequins)
14. Abi Evans (Darlington Mowden Park)
13. Hannah Smith (Watsonians)
12. Lisa Thomson - vice-captain (Darlington Mowden Park)
11. Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning)

10. Sarah Law (Darlington Mowden Park)
9. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)

1. Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park)
2. Lana Skeldon (Darlington Mowden Park)
3. Mairi Forsyth (Corstorphine Cougars)
4. Emma Wassell (Corstorphine Cougars)
5. Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County)
6. Rachel Malcolm - captain (Loughborough Lightning)
7. Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill)
8. Jade Konkel (Harlequins)

16. Jodie Rettie (Saracens)
17. Panashe Muzambe (Edinburgh University / Watsonians)
18. Megan Kennedy (Stirling County)
19. Christine Belisle (Cartha Queens Park)
20. Rachel McLachlan (Darlington Mowden Park)
21. Mhairi Grieve (Firwood Waterloo)
22. Sarah Denholm (Edinburgh University)
23. Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning)

Scotland will return to Scotstoun to play Wales on Sunday 17 November, followed by Japan on Sunday 24 November. Tickets for the two Autumn Tests and Six Nations matches will be available in the next week. Keep an eye on the Scottish Rugby website and social media channels for updates or sign up to our email newsletter at

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners