Doyle names team for Six Nations Opener

Doyle names team for Six Nations Opener

Scotland Women Head Coach Philip Doyle has named his starting team for his side’s opening Women’s Six Nations match against Ireland on Sunday at Energia Park, Donnybrook, Dublin (kick-off 1pm – live on BBC Alba).

Doyle has made three changes from the winning starting team that faced Spain two weeks ago in Almeria. Captain Rachel Malcolm is back from injury as is full-back Chloe Rollie.

Scotland lost out to Ireland 5-22 in the 2019 Women’s Six Nations Championships, but the last time they travelled to Donnybrook they beat the hosts 12-15 in 2018.

Mairi McDonald will start at scrum-half in only her second cap for Scotland. This follows the recent knee injury sustained by Jenny Maxwell, who is going to miss out on the Championships. Scotland stalwart Sarah Law has returned from her own injury to provide support from the bench.

Lana Skeldon remains as hooker and she will be flanked by props Leah Bartlett and Mairi Forsyth; Emma Wassell and Sarah Bonar will bring their experience to the second-row again as will Jade Konkel at number 8, while skipper Malcolm will resume her position from the Autumn Tests at blindside flanker with Rachel McLachlan at openside.

Helen Nelson is again selected at stand-off with Lisa Thomson and Hannah Smith in the centre and Rhona Lloyd and Megan Gaffney will be operating on the wing.

Doyle said on selection: “It is great to have key players Chloe Rollie and Rachel Malcolm back in the starting squad. Evie Tonkin played well at full-back in Spain, but this is such a big game and Chloe’s experience will be invaluable.

“It is super to have Sarah Law back from injury. I am looking forward to her making a presence on the field when she comes on.

“It is going to be a great occasion for obvious reasons. The squad are really up for it and love playing at Energia Park.

​“They are champing at the bit to get going. They love the Six Nations and have a renewed focus this year. It is all on closing the gap on the other nations.” Philip Doyle

Scotland Women team to face Ireland on Sunday at Energia Park, Donnybrook, Dublin (kick-off 1pm – live on BBC Alba)

15. Chloe Rollie (Harlequins)

14. Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning)
13. Hannah Smith (Watsonians)
12. Lisa Thomson (Darlington Mowden Park)
11. Megan Gaffney (Watsonians)

10. Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning)
9. Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill)

1. Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning)
2. Lana Skeldon (Darlington Mowden Park)
3. Mairi Forsyth (Corstorphine Cougars)
4. Emma Wassell (Corstorphine Cougars)
5. Sarah Bonar (Loughborough Lightning)
6. Rachel Malcolm – captain (Loughborough Lightning)
7. Rachel McLachlan (Darlington Mowden Park)
8. Jade Konkel (Harlequins)

16. Molly Wright (Watsonians)
17. Panashe Muzambe (Edinburgh University / Watsonians)
18. Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park)
19. Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County)
20. Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill)
21. Sarah Law (Darlington Mowden Park)
22. Evie Tonkin (Darlington Mowden Park)
23. Alex Wallace (Harrogate RFC)

Get your tickets for the opening Women’s Six Nations match between Scotland and Ireland HERE. If you’re heading to the Guinness Six Nations match on Saturday, Energia Park in Donnybrook is just a 15-minute walk from the Aviva Stadium.

Scotland return to Scotstoun Stadium next week to take on England on Sunday 9 February (kick-off 12.10pm), find tickets on the Scottish Rugby website. Kids for £1 tickets are available with a paying adult ticket until midnight Saturday 8 February, U12 tickets increase to £5 on match day.

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners