Doyle names team for Spain Test

Doyle names team for Spain Test

Scotland Women Head Coach Philip Doyle has named his starting team for the Test match against Spain on Sunday at Estadio Municipal Juan Rojas, Almeria (kick-off 11am GMT – live on BBC Alba).

Doyle has selected one uncapped player in his starting XV as Loughborough Lightning's Leah Bartlett will start at loosehead prop, supporting hooker Lana Skeldon and Mairi Forsyth at tighthead.

Stalwarts Emma Wassell and Sarah Bonar will resume their partnership in the second row, while Rachel McLachlan and Siobhan Cattigan will start as flankers and Harlequins player Jade Konkel gets the nod at number 8.

Jenny Maxwell will start at scrum-half and skipper Helen Nelson will play outside her at stand-off.

Lisa Thomson and Hannah Smith make up the centre contingent with Evie Tonkin starting at full-back. Megan Gaffney and Rhona Lloyd have been selected on the wing.

Doyle said on selection: “I am excited to see what this team will deliver in Spain. We have a good mix with some experienced players but also a number hoping to receive their first cap for Scotland.

“Leah has settled in well with the squad and has really shown some great physicality and game understanding. She has impressed us and has warranted a start.

“Spain are going to be a tough side to play, especially in Spain, so I will be expecting the players to put everything into this match and come away with a performance that will put us in a good stead ahead of the up and coming Six Nations. That is ultimately what we are aiming for.”

Scotland Women team to face Spain on Sunday at Estadio Municipal Juan Rojas, Almeria
(kick-off 11am GMT – live on BBC Alba)

15. Evie Tonkin (Darlington Mowden Park)

14. Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning)
13. Hannah Smith (Watsonians)
12. Lisa Thomson (Darlington Mowden Park)
11. Megan Gaffney (Watsonians)

10. Helen Nelson – captain (Loughborough Lightning)
9. Jenny Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning)

1. Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning)
2. Lana Skeldon (Darlington Mowden Park)
3. Mairi Forsyth (Corstorphine Cougars)
4. Emma Wassell (Corstorphine Cougars)
5. Sarah Bonar (Loughborough Lightning)
6. Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County)
7. Rachel McLachlan (Darlington Mowden Park)
8. Jade Konkel (Harlequins)


16. Molly Wright (Watsonians)
17. Panashe Muzambe (Edinburgh University / Watsonians)
18. Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park)
19. Christine Belisle (Cartha Queens Park)
20. Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill)
21. Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill)
22. Sarah Denholm (Edinburgh University)
23. Alex Wallace (Harrogate RFC)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners