Drama as Boroughmuir win U18 Cup at the death

Drama as Boroughmuir win U18 Cup at the death

​The sun continued to shine down on BT Murrayfield for the second National Youth League Cup Final of the day as Ayr/Wellington took on Boroughmuir in the U18 contest. (14-15)

Ayr were dealt a blow just before kick-off as captain Andy Morrison was ruled out through injury, with Olly Mossie taking the reins.

There wasn’t much to separate the two sides after the early exchanges as both teams tested out each other’s defence.

Finlay Devine opened the scoring for Boroughmuir after 13 minutes. The ball was well worked out to the right-wing giving Devine space to leap over the line. The conversion was unsuccessful. (0-5)

The Meggetland team registered their second score 10 minutes later. Ayr looked to run the ball out of their own 22 but Jeke Canakaivata did well to intercept the pass as it went along the line to dot down. Calum Anderson made no mistake in front of the posts to extend his sides lead. (0-12)

Ayr/Wellington forwards then looked to get their side back into the contest as they drove over their opponents line but some good defensive work by Boroughmuir held the ball up to prevent the score.

Half time - Ayr/Wellington 0 - 12 Boroughmuir 

The team from Millbrae did eventually get their first points of the afternoon, as Dylan Wilson found a gap in his opponent’s defence to go over before Murray Thomson’s kick sailed through the posts. (7-12)

On the 55-minute mark, Calum Anderson had the opportunity to give his side some breathing space, but he just pushed his penalty attempt wide.

The game then was then set up for a grandstand finish with 9 minutes remaining as Ayr/Wellington found themselves ahead for the first time in the match.

A good piece of work with a short line out took Ayr close to the line before Sam Kerr crashed over from close range. Ben McIntosh added the extras and they now had a two-point lead. (14-12)

It came down to the final act of the game to determine who would be 2018/19 U18 National Youth League Cup Final winners, after Boroughmuir had won themselves a penalty, opting for an attempt at goal from the left-hand side of the posts.

Number 10 Calum Anderson lined up the kick and connected sweetly as he was able to watch the ball sail straight through the middle of the posts before being swamped by his team-mates. (14-15)

At the end of the game Boroughmuir Head Coach Scott Anderson said: “First of all credit to Ayr, they gave us a fantastic game today. I take my hat off to our guys out there, they handled it pretty well, I’m not sure I was as confident as they were when Ayr scored with a few minutes to go.

“Calum had missed one [penalty] but we had to go for it and he hit it plumb, he couldn’t have struck it any better. I was a bit nervous for him as a parent and a coach, I’ve confidence in him, he’s a good kicker, but you’re at Murrayfield on the big pitch in the final to win the cup, so I’m really pleased for him.”

Boroughmuir’s captain Gavin Inkster was presented with Man of the Match by Director of Rugby Development, Sheila Begbie at the full time whistle.


Ayr/Wellington U18: Ross Maiden; Jason McGuiness, Dylan Wilson, Murray Thomson, Chris Easton; Billy Jackson, Craig Doolan; Michael Lafferty, Ross Ward, Ben Cree, Euan Bulloch, Conrad Lynch, Cameron Young, Olly Mossie (Captain), Morgan Letherbarrow.

Replacements: Scott Clelland, Conlan McLuckie, Stephan McLarty, Sam Kerr, Danial White, Jonathon Easton, Neil Monaghan.

Boroughmuir U18: John Dewar; Finlay Devine, Stuart Dobson, Ben Mackintosh, Jeke Canakaivata; Calum Anderson, Ethan McVicker; Daniel McDevitt, Grant Stevenson, Callum MacGregor, Derry McConnell, Lewis Thompson, Matthew Crawford, Gavin Inkster, Paul Bogie.

Replacements: Cameron Ritchie, Charles Farmer, Murray Roy, Scott McDowall, Cameron Ledingham Adam Jacques, Cameron Hogg.

Calum Anderson kicks the penalty to win the Cup for Boroughmuir

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners