Easson announces training squad ahead of first camp

Easson announces training squad ahead of first camp

Interim Scotland Women Head Coach, Bryan Easson, has named his training squad ahead of a two-day camp this weekend.

The squad will convene at Oriam, Scotland’s National Sports Performance Centre, this Saturday (19 September) in preparation for their rescheduled Six Nations matches.

The squad of 30 features six uncapped players, with Stirling County’s Evie Wills joining the senior training squad for the first time. Fellow uncapped players Coreen Grant, Rachel Shankland, Evie Gallagher, Anne Young and Rachel Law are also all included.

The rest of the squad remains largely unchanged, however, scrum-half Jenny Maxwell and winger Elizabeth Musgrove are still currently unavailable due to injury.

Abi Evans and Lisa Cockburn are also unable to join this weekend’s camp due to local lockdown restrictions in the north east of England.

Bryan Easson said: “I’ve been really impressed by the hard work the players have done during lockdown.

“The individual preparations by our home-based players at Scotstoun, BT Murrayfield and Aberdeen Sports Village, along with the hard work from the exile players at their clubs, has made it a lot easier for us to now come together as a squad.

“The management group have been working hard ahead of our return to training and I’d like to take this opportunity to thank our Strength and Conditioning coach, Allan Macdonald, our Lead Physiotherapist, Jamie Coffey, and our Head of Women's and Girl's Rugby, Gemma Fay, for all their work over the past few weeks.

“It’s a credit to their hard work and professionalism that the squad are in such great condition ahead of our first camp.”

It has also been confirmed that Ross Miller will join Easson’s backroom staff as Assistant Coach.

He has previously worked with players such as Mairi McDonald and Louise McMillan in his time as Scotland Women U20 Head Coach in 2015.

Miller has most recently led the Scotland U18 programme, whilst playing an integral role to the Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy for the Borders & East Lothian region as skills coach.

Miller said: “It’s a privilege to be asked to join the Scotland Women programme in such an exciting year for the squad.

“I’ve known Bryan for a long time now and we work well together, so I’m looking forward to supporting him and the rest of the coaching group in working towards our collective goal of achieving World Cup qualification.”

Head of Women and Girls’ Rugby, Gemma Fay, said: “I am delighted that Ross has joined the coaching group in what is a very exciting time for women’s rugby in Scotland.

“The squad are entering a crucial period as we prepare for the World Cup qualifiers and I believe this coaching team will continue to drive the development and positive progress of our squad.”

Easson added: “I’ve worked with Ross as part of the Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy so I’m aware of the expertise that he brings within his field and his experience will be hugely valuable to us.”

Miller will work alongside fellow Assistant Coach and former Glasgow Warriors player, Tyrone Holmes, in preparing the squad for the rescheduled Six Nations fixtures and the World Cup qualifiers.

Holmes, who has a cap for both Scotland A and Scotland, has been working with the squad throughout the season as a Contact Coach.

Scotland will host France on the weekend of 24 October, before traveling to play Wales a week later. The third and final rescheduled fixture will see the Scots travel to Italy to conclude their 2020 Women’s Six Nations campaign.

A full fixture list with times and venues will be announced by Six Nations in due course.

Scotland Women squad for training weekend, Oriam, 19-20 September 2020


Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning)

Christine Belisle (Cartha Queens Park)

Sarah Bonar (Gloucester / Hartpury)

Siobhan Cattigan (Stirling County)

Mairi Forsyth (Royal High Cougars)

Jade Konkel (Harlequins)

Megan Kennedy (Stirling County)

Rachel Malcolm (Loughborough Lightning)

Rachel McLachlan (Darlington Mowden Park)

Louise McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Panashe Muzambe (Edinburgh University / Watsonians)

Jodie Rettie (Saracens)

Lana Skeldon (Darlington Mowden Park)

Emma Wassell (Royal High Cougars)

Molly Wright (Watsonians)

Anne Young (Edinburgh University)


Megan Gaffney (Heriot's Rugby Club)

Coreen Grant (Saracens)

Rachel Law (Edinburgh University)

Sarah Law (Darlington Mowden Park)

Rhona Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning)

Mairi McDonald (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Helen Nelson (Loughborough Lightning)

Chloe Rollie (Harlequins)

Hannah Smith (Watsonians)

Rachel Shankland (Stirling University)

Lisa Thomson (Darlington Mowden Park)

Evie Tonkin (Darlington Mowden Park)

Evie Wills (Stirling County)

Spread the word

Newsletter Sign-up

Sign-up for our newsletter today to receive the latest updates, content and releases from Scottish Rugby.


Principal Partners